Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is great frosting recipe. I accidentally measured a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon on vanilla extract, and I also added some butter extract. I used butter flavored shortening. It dries enough to lightly stack the cookies, but the frosting is still a little soft. My kids were able to easily decorate their cookies and approve of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great frosting for sugar cookies. It was easy to mix together and set well. I used butter instead of shortening and melted it a bit to make it easier to mix. I frosted about 36 cookies and had plenty left over, so I think the recipe would be just right for about 48 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was a super easy and tasty frosting! To give it a better flavor I used 1/4 cup of butter and a 1/4 of shortening (I actually used lard). It spreads easy and makes for a simple, old-fashioned tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is a awesome recipe..Wont be buying store frosting no more..this is my frosting recipe..Add some coco mix to it to make choc frosting...Great for cookies, cakes, cupcakes, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
DEFINITELY use butter rather than shortening. Tried it both ways and my family and I prefer the taste of the butter - shortening tasted too "commercial" and not home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made this icing for the first time last night, let me tell you it's amazing! It's easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The only thing I did differently is add 1-2 tsp corn syrup and 1/2 tsp almond extract. The corn syrup makes the frosting shine. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty, and just the right consistency for spreading on sugar cookies. It also set nicely with a hard crust. I was able to transport two dozen cookies by just throwing them into a Tupperware container. I didn't have issues with the frosting getting squashed during transport. It also took to food coloring well (I used gel, not liquid). Half of this recipe frosted two dozen cookies (about two inches each) with a little bit left to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This frosting is delicious, it dries hard in no time. Only substitutions I made was add half butter, half shortening and added almond extract instead and added a bit more. The frosting is a bit thick and won't produce the prettiest frosting for cookies, but add sprinkles on top and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States