Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is the perfect frosting for squeezing from a pastry bag (AKA ziplock bag). I have a 5 year old and a 3 year old and this was the right consistency to easily decorate their cookies for Santa. I used shortening as the recipe suggested but prefer the taste of butter in my frosting. I was afraid using butter would affect their ability to decorate though. This version tastes fine. If you're purely after taste, butter MAY BE the better option. I can't wait to review this and the perfectly rolled cookie dough on my blog! (my name .net if you're interested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I really liked this icing. I did use real butter, though. I think butter is always the way to go. It has better flavor. I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is great frosting recipe. I accidentally measured a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon on vanilla extract, and I also added some butter extract. I used butter flavored shortening. It dries enough to lightly stack the cookies, but the frosting is still a little soft. My kids were able to easily decorate their cookies and approve of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great frosting for sugar cookies. It was easy to mix together and set well. I used butter instead of shortening and melted it a bit to make it easier to mix. I frosted about 36 cookies and had plenty left over, so I think the recipe would be just right for about 48 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was a super easy and tasty frosting! To give it a better flavor I used 1/4 cup of butter and a 1/4 of shortening (I actually used lard). It spreads easy and makes for a simple, old-fashioned tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is a awesome recipe..Wont be buying store frosting no more..this is my frosting recipe..Add some coco mix to it to make choc frosting...Great for cookies, cakes, cupcakes, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
DEFINITELY use butter rather than shortening. Tried it both ways and my family and I prefer the taste of the butter - shortening tasted too "commercial" and not home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made this icing for the first time last night, let me tell you it's amazing! It's easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The only thing I did differently is add 1-2 tsp corn syrup and 1/2 tsp almond extract. The corn syrup makes the frosting shine. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty, and just the right consistency for spreading on sugar cookies. It also set nicely with a hard crust. I was able to transport two dozen cookies by just throwing them into a Tupperware container. I didn't have issues with the frosting getting squashed during transport. It also took to food coloring well (I used gel, not liquid). Half of this recipe frosted two dozen cookies (about two inches each) with a little bit left to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,081) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States