Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love this recipe! It is best to let the cookies sit out overnight so the frosting has a chance to set. It is still soft but they are easily stacked between parchment paper without ruining them. I am not a fan of royal icing and this is a great alternative. You can't get as intricate as with icing, but you can still get your point across. I like to put it on there a little thick with sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solaur623

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This is the Best home made icing ever! I made the Soft Sugar cookies for Xmas with this icing. They were a big hit! Also, dont just use for Xmas cookies, you can use for any occasion...Valentines, Easter, 4th of July, Back to School, Halloween, birthdays, etc. . Just change up your cookie cuters & add the food coloring of your choice to the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was ok. The frosting tasted a little greasier than we like. However, It was easy to dye, spread, and store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Best frosting recipe I've used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a good go-to recipe. It tastes good and is a workable, nice-looking frosting. Not sure if it's because it's cold here today or not, but we noticed very small molecules in our frosting (probably the shortening). This made the frosting look a little sparkly when mixed with rich, bold colors (I used Wilton's cake frosting gels that I purchased at a craft store.) I like that this doesn't have almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome frosting to compliment Dora's Christmas Cookies from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Goes great with sugar cookies and sets up nicely. It is sweet but than again most frostings are sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is the perfect frosting for squeezing from a pastry bag (AKA ziplock bag). I have a 5 year old and a 3 year old and this was the right consistency to easily decorate their cookies for Santa. I used shortening as the recipe suggested but prefer the taste of butter in my frosting. I was afraid using butter would affect their ability to decorate though. This version tastes fine. If you're purely after taste, butter MAY BE the better option. I can't wait to review this and the perfectly rolled cookie dough on my blog! (my name .net if you're interested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I really liked this icing. I did use real butter, though. I think butter is always the way to go. It has better flavor. I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States