Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
great recipe. love this and i will always use it when i make sugar cookies!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This icing is so sweet! I'm not sure how to describe how intense the sweetness is, but I'd say on the level of Cadbury Eggs with cotton candy mixed in. I guess I prefer a milder, more buttermilk type frosting, but I was afraid that wouldn't set. This recipe did set, but it was for naught because we couldn't eat any of it. Too bad, it was easy to make and looked pretty. It's a very thick and fluffy frosting. I did cut out some milk. I used maybe 1 tbl and added it slowly while mixing on high. Anymore than that and I noticed it started to get runny and fall apart. Use your own judgement; you'll know when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The recipe, as is, is a bit too stiff for spreading and needed to be thinned just a bit more with milk to stay put on the cookie. It had a slightly off flavor, but otherwise quick, easy and something I will definitely use again. Paired excellently with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" here on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I added peppermint extract to the frosting and it was delicious though a bit too sweet. I put it on brownies and it was amazing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This frosting is lick your fingers, spatula and bowl good - and exactly as written save for using clear vanilla and adding a pinch of salt. But I can't stress enough how important it is to use hi-ratio shortening, easily available online, for superior quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great go to recipe for frosting - I add a little Almond extract - and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
SO GOOD & EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I didn't correctly incorporate everything in the best order for the best consistency. Watch the video! It helps! Alternating sugar and milk helps and makes it turn out perfectly. First time I made it I would give it 3.5 stars and this most recent time I give it 5! :) Very simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I had tried another recipe for sugar cookie frosting prior to this one, and it came out much too sweet. This one was perfect! Easy to make (I halved the recipe because I had a small batch of cookies left), soft enough to spread easily, and stiffened up without getting hard. I will DEFINITELY be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Oh lord this was awful. My friend and I googled "Easy Sugar Cookie Frosting" and clicked on this thinking it was simple... and edible. Oh boy were we wrong. First of all, we didn't have "shortening" so we subsituted it for butter. After reading some reviews, I have come to the conclusion that this was a bad idea. Second, the recipe wasn't very clear on how to mix the ingredients. Should you decide to make this, use shortening, MUCH less sugar than called for (let's be realistic, 4 cups of sugar is too much for anyone), and do not beat too much. Our frosting seemed to have a bunch of clumps of sugar, so we mixed it with an electric mixer on "Whip." This made it into a weird liquidy consistensy. So, long story short: don't make this recipe and pick something alot more edible. Unless of course you like frosting that tastes like overly buttery, sickly sweet toothpaste. Lastly, we named our frosting "The Nuclear Hazard," which should give you an idea of the quality...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States