Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I didn't like it because using shortening leaves a greasy and thick taste. I didn't use all the confectioners sugar it asked for either rather I tasted it as I went because I don't like overly sweet frosting. I needed a quick white frosting and chose this because of the high ratings. I will not use this recipe again and I will avoid using recipes calling for shortening in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My go-to icing recipe for sugar cookies. It's easy to decorate with, sets up stiff enough to stack and actually tastes pretty good, too. I like using this a lot more than royal icing. I will never use royal icing again. This is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Warning: you definately need to use an electric mixer to make this recipe! The recipe does tell you but I tried with just a spatula and now it is a paste...not frosting. Still tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Awesome. Just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
great recipe. love this and i will always use it when i make sugar cookies!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This icing is so sweet! I'm not sure how to describe how intense the sweetness is, but I'd say on the level of Cadbury Eggs with cotton candy mixed in. I guess I prefer a milder, more buttermilk type frosting, but I was afraid that wouldn't set. This recipe did set, but it was for naught because we couldn't eat any of it. Too bad, it was easy to make and looked pretty. It's a very thick and fluffy frosting. I did cut out some milk. I used maybe 1 tbl and added it slowly while mixing on high. Anymore than that and I noticed it started to get runny and fall apart. Use your own judgement; you'll know when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The recipe, as is, is a bit too stiff for spreading and needed to be thinned just a bit more with milk to stay put on the cookie. It had a slightly off flavor, but otherwise quick, easy and something I will definitely use again. Paired excellently with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" here on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I added peppermint extract to the frosting and it was delicious though a bit too sweet. I put it on brownies and it was amazing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This frosting is lick your fingers, spatula and bowl good - and exactly as written save for using clear vanilla and adding a pinch of salt. But I can't stress enough how important it is to use hi-ratio shortening, easily available online, for superior quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great go to recipe for frosting - I add a little Almond extract - and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,041) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States