Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is now my go-to recipe for cutout cookies. I have made these twice in the last couple months, once for a big birthday party and another time for a wedding. Each time I made four batches. Even though I usually hate the fuss of rolling out dough, this recipe makes it a breeze. One of the keys is to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour or overnight. Each batch yields about three dozen cutouts. For beautiful and easy frosting, I mix powdered sugar with a little milk and food coloring until I get the right consistency. Then I dunk the tops of the cookies in, and let drip-dry on wire cookie racks. Many people have asked me for the recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I'm wanting to start my own cookie business so I tried this recipe. The texture is soft, but firm enough to work with. The flavor is very yummy. I followed the recipe, but added 1/4 sugar and doubled the vanilla. My children AND husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great Sugar Cookie recipe! My daughter loved cutting them out. :) And we ALL loved eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiddavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was the ONLY recipe that has worked for me. Cookies kept their shape and tasted good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by »Karen­«
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made these last year and everyone devoured them! I forgot to post pictures and review though until now. I really recommend using parchment paper to roll and cut on. You just peel off the extra dough around the cut-outs, lift up the whole sheet of paper and place it on the cookie pan. This way you don't ruin the shapes by picking them up individually. Also, be sure to roll no thicker than 1/4" or the cookies will get puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by »Karen­«

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These are great cookies!!! It took a little more like 3 hours for the dough to be solid enough to make cutouts that didn't tear, but I just stuck the dough in the freezer for about 15 minutes to finish up quicker. These cookies are so soft and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
THE BEST sugar cookie recipe! They keep their shape EXACTLY how you cut them, does not stick to your baking surface (I used foil and they still just slide right off) AND it allows you to bake more cookies at once because you can basically stick them right next to eachother and not worry about expanding and sticking to eachother....will never use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This has to be my favorite recipe for sugar cookie cutouts! Dough does not stick at all to the rolling pin. Just made a box mix to compare and did not even match the quality. My Tips for awesome cutouts using this recipe: *Double the vanilla *Might need a bit more sugar *Make sure to chill dough overnight *Use parchment paper for rolling, chilling and baking. Do not move cutouts. *Very little flour is needed when rolling. * Let cutouts relax and chill after cutting with cookie cutters for at least an hour in the fridge (just transfer parchment paper with cutouts still on.) *Bake for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Took long but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Agree with the reviewers who said this cookie is not sweet enough. I could taste the flour and even royal icing + colored sugar did not make up for the bland cookie. While the cookies were not crispy, they also were not very chewy...more of a dry but soft texture. They did roll very well, even after only 30 minutes in the fridge. If you are looking for a cookie that is not too sweet, this will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States