Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is great for kids since they cut easily however the cookie itself is just ok. It will be my go to recipe when I am doing a project with the kids but otherwise I will try another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this one by far was the easiest to roll out and cut and the cookies have great flavor. I do all the baking for 2 families at Christmas time and sugar cookies by far were my least favorite to do, but these turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Slocum-Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These cookies were pretty good....but I do think they need a little more flavor. I think a little almond or more vanilla extract would be awesome. They did keep their shape very very well and I was extremely happy with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This recipe is not bad, but it is not a sugar cookie. Its more cake like then cookie like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was expecting something much, much better than the actual end result of this recipe. After reading so many "wow" reviews, I was sure this was going to be the ultimate sugar cookie, but I was quite disappointed. These cookies were edible but nothing I would bother making again. While the dough was heavenly to work with, the flavor was lacking. Doubling the vanilla or using another flavoring, such as almond extract, would have helped, but still wouldn't have made this a "five star" recipe. The texture isn't quite right either, I prefer a much softer, dense, and moist cookie. These turned out dry and somewhat cake-like, despite the fact that I didn't bake them too long. I experimented with rolling the dough out at different thicknesses and found that about 1/3 inch yielded the best results, but still, only a merely "edible" cookie. Definitely not worth the calories, sugar cookies should at least be somewhat sweet and these are perhaps the blandest cookies I've had in quite some time. I think that this recipe has received a misleading number of positive reviews simply because the dough is very workable and the ingredients are simple. May seem like an excellent recipe to those who are not very experienced with baking for these reasons, but anyone who is an experienced baker will be very disappointed. I made about 3-4 dozen cookies with this recipe and while we did consume the majority of them eventually, everyone agreed that they weren't even close to "irresistable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crococymfi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Didnt like this cookie at all. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This recipe is awesome! The dough was really easy to work with. The cookies are very tastey. If I had to make one suggestion, I'd say to add like 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of butter extract, as well as the vanilla. I'll be using this recipe again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
If I can do this, anyone can. My only problem: I roll the dough too thin. Once I figured that out everything went great. Started using my hands to pat the dough rather than my pin to roll it. Guess I get too aggressive with that rolling pin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe for sugar cookies that you'd want to shape and decorate. This also makes a lot of cookies, too. I will keep this for future reference. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sporadic Cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is the first recipe for sugar cookies that I actually had work for me. I have never had good luck making cutout cookies, but this recipe made wonderful cutouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyomom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States