Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for cut out sugar cookies! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
these cookies tasted SO good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Best sugar cookie ever! Meant to be used with frosting or sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've found so far. The dough was easy to work with and didn't get all sticky when it started to warm up when I was working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these sugar cookies yesterday for my daughters' Valentine's Day tea and they turned out great! I am not a fan of making cut out cookies normally because the dough is either too sticky or cracks or the shapes lose their shape, etc, but this dough erased all of those problems for me. It was an absolute breeze to work with, baked perfectly and held its shape beautifully. I am not sure why this dough came out sticky for some reviewers, because mine was only refrigerated for one hour and was not sticky at all. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of parchment paper, but honestly probably didn't even need to, and did not use one bit of flour or powdered sugar for rolling, because I just didn't need it. My cookies baked in about 10 minutes and came out firm but chewy not crunchy, if that makes any sense. lol I did make a couple of modifications: I used butter-flavored shortening in place of the butter, substituted half and half for the heavy whipping cream (because I didn't have any) and added 1 tsp of salt and some extra vanilla. I do not think any of those changes would have dramatically affected the way the dough turned out, though, so I am still giving the original recipe 5 stars. This is now my go-to for sugar cookie cut-outs. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C. McDaniel
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Before I was even done mixing this dough I knew it was going to be fabulous. Smooth, easy to roll, and smells divine. This recipe puts the fun back into cookie making. Cooks up quick with no rising so cookies stay true to form. This would be the perfect dough for 3D cookies. Not too sweet, they are perfect for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfection! I added 2 tsp of vanilla, per the other reviewers suggestions. These dough was the perfect consistency for rolling and cutting. I let the dough chill in the fridge for 2 hours and then took it out of the fridge about 5 minutes before I was ready to roll. I also put the pan of cutouts in the freezer to chill for about 3-5 minutes to help them retain their shape. Great flavor and perfect for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were delicious! Didn't make any modifications. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They taste like flour and are not nearly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have tried a few different recipes from this site and have had to tinker with them all. I will say that this one, was the easiest to work with after chilling over night. I feel that it is very bland by itself and the cookie from this recipe must be frosted. But I overall enjoyed the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States