Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Agree with the reviewers who said this cookie is not sweet enough. I could taste the flour and even royal icing + colored sugar did not make up for the bland cookie. While the cookies were not crispy, they also were not very chewy...more of a dry but soft texture. They did roll very well, even after only 30 minutes in the fridge. If you are looking for a cookie that is not too sweet, this will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have used this recipe a few times already to make some sugar cookies for my kids to decorate. They hold together well when I roll them out. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were great, all the good reviews were true. Easy to make, easy to work, the least annoying cut out cookie dough I've encountered. Agree with everyone that doubling the vanilla works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
wonderful recipe - took Valentine cookies to the doctors office staff - they were goobled up! I used 1/4 more sugar, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. Rolled out on counter top using powder sugar - crunchy on the outside - soft in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I agree that this is just about the best sugar cookie I have ever made. I made them for Christmas and now I'm making them for Valentines Day. The only thing I did different was to leave the dough in over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkcline46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These are perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I followed the instructions to the tee, and it didn't come out right at all. The dough was wet. And when I baked them, it had a hollow texture to the cookie and it didn't taste sweet at all, it was a little salty, and I didn't even add salt to this recipe. I don't know how the others got theirs right, when I followed everything it says for me to do. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe! I have never made sugar cookies until today. I made the dough 2 days ago but was unable to roll/bake the cookies until today. Once the dough warmed up it was super easy to roll out and cut. I tasted one from my first batch and it was delish! Not too sweet, had a little tiny bit of crunch on the outside and soft on the inside. I'll be using the sugar cookie recipe from now on. I actually can't wait to make cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele_One_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. Tip: Roll only small portions of dough at a time, keeping the rest in the cooler. Yummy flavor. My favorite "Sugar Cookie Dough". Everyone raved about the flavor and the tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Amazingly good! The tip to use sugar to help roll out was a stoke of genius! It added a crisp sugary crust to a sedately sweet cookie. My grandson and I will use this recipe every Christmas for the foreseeable future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States