Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
these cookies tasted SO good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Best sugar cookie ever! Meant to be used with frosting or sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've found so far. The dough was easy to work with and didn't get all sticky when it started to warm up when I was working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these sugar cookies yesterday for my daughters' Valentine's Day tea and they turned out great! I am not a fan of making cut out cookies normally because the dough is either too sticky or cracks or the shapes lose their shape, etc, but this dough erased all of those problems for me. It was an absolute breeze to work with, baked perfectly and held its shape beautifully. I am not sure why this dough came out sticky for some reviewers, because mine was only refrigerated for one hour and was not sticky at all. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of parchment paper, but honestly probably didn't even need to, and did not use one bit of flour or powdered sugar for rolling, because I just didn't need it. My cookies baked in about 10 minutes and came out firm but chewy not crunchy, if that makes any sense. lol I did make a couple of modifications: I used butter-flavored shortening in place of the butter, substituted half and half for the heavy whipping cream (because I didn't have any) and added 1 tsp of salt and some extra vanilla. I do not think any of those changes would have dramatically affected the way the dough turned out, though, so I am still giving the original recipe 5 stars. This is now my go-to for sugar cookie cut-outs. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C. McDaniel
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Before I was even done mixing this dough I knew it was going to be fabulous. Smooth, easy to roll, and smells divine. This recipe puts the fun back into cookie making. Cooks up quick with no rising so cookies stay true to form. This would be the perfect dough for 3D cookies. Not too sweet, they are perfect for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfection! I added 2 tsp of vanilla, per the other reviewers suggestions. These dough was the perfect consistency for rolling and cutting. I let the dough chill in the fridge for 2 hours and then took it out of the fridge about 5 minutes before I was ready to roll. I also put the pan of cutouts in the freezer to chill for about 3-5 minutes to help them retain their shape. Great flavor and perfect for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were delicious! Didn't make any modifications. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They taste like flour and are not nearly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have tried a few different recipes from this site and have had to tinker with them all. I will say that this one, was the easiest to work with after chilling over night. I feel that it is very bland by itself and the cookie from this recipe must be frosted. But I overall enjoyed the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp and increased the pure vanilla extract to 2 tsps. I also increased the sugar to 1 1/12 cups. That made the cookies have great flavor even without frosting and have just the right amount of softness. I also chilled for 8 hours in the fridge in 3 separate balls. You may want to even let them chill over night. Other than the chill time, the cookies were amazing! This is my new go to sugar cookie cut out recipe! My 6 year old loved making these and eating them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States