Sugar Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Putting them in a salad made of mache with pomegranate seeds and balsamic vinaigrette. Had to hide them as there would not be enough for the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSinAix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I just made this for the first time to put into gift baskets for Christmas. The mist difficult part of this recipe is not eating all of it yourself. These sugared pecans are so crunchy and delicious! The only change I made was to use a bit less than a tbsp of water plus a splash of vanilla extract. Otherwise, I followed the given amounts and now I have to go get some more pecans to make a batch for myself! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I keep being asked to share this recipe! A big hit, and so easy! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Excellent. Use them to top whipped toppings on cakes and pies. They add a delicious crunch to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These turned out exactly as I wanted! I made the 3 changes that were recommended by others, 1) use 2 egg whites, 2) 1 T vanilla instead of water, and 3) 1 t cinnamon. They were phenomenal! I tripled the recipe and it still came out great. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I wanted a recipe to learn the technique of sugar coating nuts, so I tried this one because it was one of the highest rated versions. I thought it was good, the technique worked fine, and level of sweet to salty was great...but for my own taste, it was bland and that was after doubling the cinnamon. If you don't want overly spiced nuts (pecans) this is great, but if you want something a little stronger, spicier (flavorful, not hot) and exciting, try experimenting with greater amounts of different spices yourself or look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
YUMMY and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Since finding this recipe last spring, I have made it at least a dozen times and have given the pecans as part of my Christmas baking presents this month. Today I was in a hurry and inadvertently made a couple of changes which made the pecans even more delicious. I left out the water. Instead, I just coated the pecans with the whisked egg white (I use the ziplock bag method). Then I cooked them at 275 degrees for an hour. These changes made them exceptionally crunchy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States