Sugar-Coated Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Ok, if you use muffin tin liners like I do your entire muffin (duh) will not be coated in the topping. I didn't even think of it beforehand. I was in a hurry and just made them. The plain muffin inside was lacking something. I think a little cinnamon there like another reviewer suggested would have done it, even without the entire thing being rolled in the topping. As far as the milk, I started out with 3/4 cup but added more during the mixing to get a consistency I could work with putting in the muffin cups. I would say it was at least a cup. I just kept adding and stirred it in until I could work with it and even then was thinking it could use a tad more. My batter was not lumpy after all of this, but they baked up gorgeous in about 15 minutes as another had said. Mine were light and fluffy with nice peaks on them. Everyone still gobbled them up, but I am giving it 4 stars since the basic muffin still needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANMALONE
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The only thing I would change would be to use butter instead of oil, it makes for a more tasteful muffin. Otherwise I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
this recipes is similar to one for "breakfast muffins" that my mom has. her's has cinnamon and nutmeg added to the batter, so i added 1 tsp each of those two ingredients. also added 1 tsp of vanilla. i filled regular muffin cups 2/3rds full and only came up with 10 muffins, but they baked up nice and tall. very moist inside, and slightly crisp on top. the cinnamon/sugar on top is what makes them so perfectly sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used melted butter instead of oil in the actual muffin recipe. That was the only change I made. I made mini muffins and didn't bother with liners, I just spritzed the muffin tins with baking spray. Once they were done, I was able to dip the mini muffins in butter and roll them in cinnamon sugar. I did need a little more melted butter and cinnamon-sugar mix than what was called for. I did also get more than the recipe stated--I was able to get 48 mini muffins out of one recipe. My family loved these. Next time, I might add a little vanilla to the muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very good. I did however add some cinnimon, brown sugar, and vanilla to the dry mix. I also used a mixture of butter and corn syrup instead of just straight butter to dip the muffins in before rolling them in the cinnimon sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Yummy! I added a bit more milk (an extra 1/4 cup) so it was easier to put in the muffin cups. The muffins turned out quite nicely. I made a mistake the first time I made these and melted the margarine for the topping and instead of reading the intructions right through I just dumped in the sugar and cinnamon and stirred them up with the margarine. I didn't want to throw out the mixture so I just spooned it onto the tops of the muffins before I baked them. The topping baked nicely and spread out perfectly on the tops of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
My name is Kya and I am 6 years old. I said that I wanted to bake something but my mom wasn't sure about it but my dad let me. It was fun but I was a little scared about the oven part. The muffins are a little like biscuits but with cinnimon. They are real good!I had fun making them too (Kya's mom)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I was a bit concerned when making these muffins. The batter was thick and sticky; unlike most muffin batters. But it came out well. It's a heartier muffin than most. VARIATION: add 2tsp of ground cinnamon to the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalimuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Absolutely beautiful! Light, fluffy, delicate and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
It is a very delicious recipe. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States