Sugar-Coated Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These were okay but seemed to be lacking something. I would suggest throwing in some dried fruit or chocolate chips for interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a really good recipe. Quick and easy. My husband really loves these muffins. They are good for breakfast and I like how they are light and not really heavy. I make this recipe a lot. I dont add the extra 1/4 cup but if the batter looks really thick then i add just a bit more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had fresh cherries on hand, so I added them into this recipe. I really enjoyed the cinnamon and sugar on top of the muffins. I also like the fact that this recipe is not full of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
these actually turned out better than i thought! i used 1 cup (a slight bit more actually) milk like some1 else suggested 2 tame some of the stickyness. but i would suggest that u add SOMETHING 2 the batter: choco/butterscotch/vanilla/peanutbutter chips, 1 of those would, im sure, do great. im not a fan of how empty the muffin feels whenever i take a bite w/out the cinnamon part. (o gosh thats 1 yummy topping). i would also suggest that not only use only 1 tbls. butter 2 put onto the muffintops, but also add 1 extra tsp. cinnamon 2 the mix: the cinnamon aint as strong as id like it 2 be, & i dont like having a tbls. of butter left sitting in the dish when im done. i also like how less crunchy the bottoms are on these(not entirely soft like cupcakes... i guess theyre not supposed 2 be)compared 2 the choco. chip muffins i made the other day. i will def. make these again. p.s. i would suggest they change the name 2 sugar/cinnamon-coated muffins. sounds more precise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergrl_bc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Ok, if you use muffin tin liners like I do your entire muffin (duh) will not be coated in the topping. I didn't even think of it beforehand. I was in a hurry and just made them. The plain muffin inside was lacking something. I think a little cinnamon there like another reviewer suggested would have done it, even without the entire thing being rolled in the topping. As far as the milk, I started out with 3/4 cup but added more during the mixing to get a consistency I could work with putting in the muffin cups. I would say it was at least a cup. I just kept adding and stirred it in until I could work with it and even then was thinking it could use a tad more. My batter was not lumpy after all of this, but they baked up gorgeous in about 15 minutes as another had said. Mine were light and fluffy with nice peaks on them. Everyone still gobbled them up, but I am giving it 4 stars since the basic muffin still needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I made this once ... and though they were okay, I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Yummy! I added a bit more milk (an extra 1/4 cup) so it was easier to put in the muffin cups. The muffins turned out quite nicely. I made a mistake the first time I made these and melted the margarine for the topping and instead of reading the intructions right through I just dumped in the sugar and cinnamon and stirred them up with the margarine. I didn't want to throw out the mixture so I just spooned it onto the tops of the muffins before I baked them. The topping baked nicely and spread out perfectly on the tops of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANMALONE
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The only thing I would change would be to use butter instead of oil, it makes for a more tasteful muffin. Otherwise I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Big hit with the roomies!! They disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
My name is Kya and I am 6 years old. I said that I wanted to bake something but my mom wasn't sure about it but my dad let me. It was fun but I was a little scared about the oven part. The muffins are a little like biscuits but with cinnimon. They are real good!I had fun making them too (Kya's mom)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States