Sugar-Coated Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a good recipe to add fruit to such as bananas, blueberrys, or even chocolate chips. It does need some fruit or the chocolate added to it. The basic recipe alone is a little bland. Definitely add the vanilla to the mixture. This is a great recipe to experiment with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made these one morning on a whim, and they were delicious. Like many others have said, I added cinnamon and vanilla and these were still delicious. They have a light buttery taste to them, which isn't too overbearing. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very good. I did however add some cinnimon, brown sugar, and vanilla to the dry mix. I also used a mixture of butter and corn syrup instead of just straight butter to dip the muffins in before rolling them in the cinnimon sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
this recipes is similar to one for "breakfast muffins" that my mom has. her's has cinnamon and nutmeg added to the batter, so i added 1 tsp each of those two ingredients. also added 1 tsp of vanilla. i filled regular muffin cups 2/3rds full and only came up with 10 muffins, but they baked up nice and tall. very moist inside, and slightly crisp on top. the cinnamon/sugar on top is what makes them so perfectly sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The tops were the best, not to dry on the inside, great to go with hot coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrilynward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
We used to make these in jr. high cooking class, under the name "French Breakfast Puffs". Make these in small-sized muffin tins, and DIP the tops into melted butter (easier than brushing), then into sugar-cinnamon mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very basic muffin, but VERY easy to make. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract to the batter to sweeten. These are great to make if you are in a hurry. They are quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have already made this twice and I just found this recipe yesterday. Both times they were gone within hours. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I love this recipe. I just wanted to make something simple to eat for breakfast tomorrow, and this was exactly what I was looking for! I read other reviews and decided to add 2tbsp cinnamon to the dry mix. It was just perfect. I added a little extra milk too, and the batter was not lumpy. But they turned out gorgeous! I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
My husband made these for breakfast...kids loved them! Personally, I thought the tops were really good but the muffins themselves weren't very sweet at all...we'll make them again, but next time we'll add something sweet to the batter to make them taste better! they were good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States