Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
debi i buy garlic ranch in NC all the time maybe check some other stores not sure where your at but they still make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This receipe is great! I have served this for many years and all love it. I do like that all have added some great ideas for avacado, beans ect. I also use catalina dressing, however, ranch & thousand Island sound great as well! Thanks all! The Kraft Garlic was awesome too but they took it off the shelf years ago. Wish I had a great receipe for a garlic dressing! Any suggestiions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I thought this salad was great and very easy to make on a hot summer night.. Not low fat but you could modify it as I will for my vegetarian husband. Either tempeh or Yves ground round for ground beef. I would also subsitute turkey and use whole grain nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeyboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Taco Salad is one of my all time favorite childhood dishes! We do ours a little bit different, instead of kidney beans I use a can of original Refried beans(heated of course). Also I use Taco sauce or Salsa instead of dressing. To top it off I add sliced black olives, mexican or cheddar cheese, and Sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesha620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I probably shouldn't try to rate this because I made a three major changes. I give it the full five stars because I'm sure the original is just as delicious. First, I am a vegetarian and used Morningstar Farms Mealstarter hamburger. Then, instead of commercial taco seasoning, I used my own homemade mixture. I do not like either the chemicals or the amount of salt in the commercial preparations. I used a homemade tomato salsa mixed into yogurt for the dressing to painlessly cut down on fat and calories. This version was a huge hit with family and friends. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Simple and delicious! Plus it didn't take long to put together. I used "Taco Seasoning II" to brown the ground beef. I also added some avocado and sliced black olives along with the cheese, lettuce, tomato, and sliced green onion. I opted for plain tortilla chips vs. nacho flavored and used "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site as the dressing. All that was left to do was add a well placed dollup of sour cream - fabulous for a tasty weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is also good with Catalina Dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Love this recipe and so does my kids, relatives and friends! I'm always being asked to make this for ppl and it's the easiest dish in the world to make. I do make a few changes though. First of all, i use WISHBONE RUSSIAN DRESSING and I highly recommend trying this. it is sooo good, and I use a can of pinto beans and add chopped tomatoes. I also add a few drops of tobasco sauce to taste to the hamburger/dressing mixture. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've made this same salad for 30 years- but I add refried beans to my meat mixture and cool it before crumbling into the salad.. we like catalina dressing.. I also add avacado and black olives..when I mix up salad, I then serve it on plates with a dollop of sour cream and salsa---I also serve a fresh fruit platter and blueberry muffins to round a summer meal..delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This recipe is good but it definitly needs some chopped avocado added at the end and a 4 oz can of sliced black olives. Also - Green Goddess dressing really has a nice tang and our family likes it better than ranch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States