Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is just how I have made mine, but I mix ranch dressing with catalina dressing for the salad dressing. About 1/3 cup of catalina dressing to 1 cup of ranch. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this is a great recipe and my entire family loves it but i do make a few changes like adding sliced black olives and using a sweet/red dressing instead of Ranch, for instance: Catalina or Western. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I use taco flavored chips, no beans and catalina dressing. Gets rave reviews every time. Can't put the chips in until just before serving or they get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
As is, this is a GREAT meal. Instead of mixing it all together, we just layered it on a plate and allowed everyone to add their dressing on themselves. This allows you to do Catalina, Ranch, Italian, whatever you are feeling up to. Also, keeps the lettuce from wilting and makes leftovers an easy keep. To make this lite - ditch the chips, use lean turkey or beef, fat free cheddar cheese, and low-cal ranch. I also added black beans to the recipe and think some spicy salsa would be nice though not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylogle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Not a review because I haven't made this; had to comment because seeing it reminded me of the exact same salad I used to make, but with Catalina French dressing instead of ranch. Mmmm, I'd forgotten all about it! I think ranch sounds yummy, too. Fourth of July picnic, I'm thinkin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I usually make taco salad when I have left over taco meat and add all the ingredients used in this recipe except I use ranch style bean or chili beans (no meat). I make my dressing with ranch dressing, sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRY209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
debi i buy garlic ranch in NC all the time maybe check some other stores not sure where your at but they still make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This receipe is great! I have served this for many years and all love it. I do like that all have added some great ideas for avacado, beans ect. I also use catalina dressing, however, ranch & thousand Island sound great as well! Thanks all! The Kraft Garlic was awesome too but they took it off the shelf years ago. Wish I had a great receipe for a garlic dressing! Any suggestiions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I thought this salad was great and very easy to make on a hot summer night.. Not low fat but you could modify it as I will for my vegetarian husband. Either tempeh or Yves ground round for ground beef. I would also subsitute turkey and use whole grain nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeyboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Taco Salad is one of my all time favorite childhood dishes! We do ours a little bit different, instead of kidney beans I use a can of original Refried beans(heated of course). Also I use Taco sauce or Salsa instead of dressing. To top it off I add sliced black olives, mexican or cheddar cheese, and Sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alesha620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States