Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have been making this salad for years, and it is a favorite of mine and my family. I leave out the beans, and use plain tortilla chips, but everything else is the same. It makes a lot, but a big plate goes down quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
So easy and economical. Personal preference: used romaine lettuce, black beans and regular tortilla chips. Make ahead leaving chips to add before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Fast, easy, and filling! This has now become a fast family fave at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
In making this, cut back on cheddar cheese to 1 cup, used a whole can of kidney beans, and 1 tablespoon Taco Seasoning I by B. Echols from this site rather than store bought. We liked this but prefer San Antonio Taco Salad on this site (AR made this recipe private some time ago but still available if it was in a member’s recipe box). The main difference between these two recipes is that beans and salsa are added into the cooked ground beef in the San Antonio version which gives it a more in-depth flavor and it uses 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese. Sue’s version is so simple and extremely fast to prepare that we will likely use it again when short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe! Funny thing though - I forgot to add the cheese and we ended up liking it better without(We put some in our bowls the second night).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I love this recipe for warm summer nights! It's nice and refreshing and you don't have to stand over the stove for very long AND you can get rid of veggies easily without altering the taste too much. However there are a couple changes I usually make when making this recipe...I use spices I have on hand (Chili powder, garlic powder, salt, cayenne and cumin to taste) instead of taco seasoning. I toss in some finely chopped green peppers (since that's what I usually buy and never end up using!). I switch between black and kidney beans, and sometimes use both. I use Spanish onions as opposed to green because we really like onion flavor in this family and we use creamy Italian dressing, which we both prefer over the French. I also tend to mix everything but the lettuce, chips and dressing since we both like the lettuce crisp and the chips crunchy and have different ideas of what a substantial amount of dressing is... Although this recipe is great, don't be afraid to play around with different veggies, dressings and chip flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Very good recipe I used French Dressing but will try ranch dressing next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Tripled this, we have a family of 7... Didn't use the beans or green onion, and it was absolutely amazing! Highly recommend this recipe, if your looking for taco salad. Also, really good, heated up later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Great mix of ingredients for a taco salad. It was awesome. This recipe makes a large amount. I actually used a recipe for "Emily's Dressing for Taco Salad" instead of the ranch dressing and it really added the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Alberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Great recipe - my kids ate it and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabe and Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States