Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Try it with Thousand Island Dressing instead of Ranch. It is amazing and yes even the cold leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Been making this for years but with a few differences others may enjoy. I use very lean beef (93/7) and add chopped onion while browning. I will also add corn if i have a left over cob from another meal. Instead of Ranch, i use a combo of salsa, ketchup and lite sour cream for kind of a latin 100 island. I also use padrinos reduced fat chips and 2% sharp cheddar. If i don't have kidney beans (which are my preference) black or pinto beans do in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malibumermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Catalina dressing instead of Ranch is the only way to go with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My family loves it when I make this. We make several different variations. We use Doritos, advocado, canned corn, black olives, & red beans for a variety of toppings to include the tomatoes & cheese. For the dressing, we always use CATALINA FRENCH Dressing and Mild/Medium Taco Sauce. TRY IT - sweet and spicy - yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have made something similar to this. You might consider trying this recipe with 1000 island dressing, its quite good! Very tasty. We would not pre-mix the meat, beans with the salad. Leftovers keep better if you keep the heated items seperate from the salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is also my mother in law's recipe for taco salad and we have been making it for years. When we take it to potlucks or 4th of July gatherings everyone loves it! I use red onion instead of green and add olives and a little fresh minced cilantro. We used to use the taco flavored Doritos but they are hard to find so the nacho cheese are good too. I know alot of people have mixed the ranch with the salsa but I have always just mixed the salad with the ranch and let everyone top their individual servings with the salsa. This recipe makes a ton so if I make this for dinner, I make everything and divide all the ingredients in half and store them in separate containers in the fridge and mix only half the ingredients together and do the same thing the next night so the salad if fresh and not soggy. Sometimes I find this salad a little salty/overpowering and wonder if I would prefer the Catalina but everyone (especially my husband) loves it and tells me I'm crazy and not to change a thing! Lol! Also, I think this salad definitely has to have the kidney beans in it, they lend a slight sweetness that is delicious! I think I will surprise my hubby and make this for dinner soon! Thanks for reminding me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My family has been loving taco salad for years. We prefer plain tortilla chips or fry our own corn tortillas until crisp. The ranch dressing takes away from the mexican flavor so we use pcio de gallo or picante sauce. Avocados make a good addition and we do not put beans or use pinto to make it stretch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Wow! This is a blast from the past! Went to college in the 70's, and this salad was a staple with me and the roommates. Haven't had it in years, but plan to make it tonight!! We used red onions instead of green, plain tortilla chips, and added olives & avocado. Can't wait for dinner! Thanks, Sue, I'd forgotten about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I LOVE this salad.. I've tried it several different ways. I've used coleslaw dressing as well as sour cream & salsa rather than a dressing..always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe--I've made it for years. A variation I like is to use Catalina dressing instead of Ranch. I also like to add chunks of avocado! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States