Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Very good salad. We all enjoyed...to include the kids. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I've made this for years and have a couple of suggestions to make any left-overs as good as the original. First, fry the ground meat with some chopped onions. When done add the kidney beans, any seasonings, and the cheese of your choice (I often use processed pepper jack cheese as it adds some flavor, replaces the need for Taco seasoning mix, and melts so nicely). In a separate bowl, add dressing (I like Catalina) to chopped lettuce, using only enough for the number of people you will feed. Place the lettuce mixture on the individual plates, top with the ground meat mixture, and garnish this with freshly diced tomatoes, diced green pepper, chopped green onions, and maybe some sliced black olives. Serve tortilla chips in a large bowl for scooping up the salad. No soggy left-over lettuce mixture or soggy tortilla chips. Refrigerate left-over ground beef mixture for another day... Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Been making this for years, a family favorite! add sliced black olives and chopped avocado; use Taco-Flavored Doritos (now that they are available again); and definitely use WishBone Deluxe French Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyemz
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Omg this was so delicious I used home made salsa and it was perfect. I used black beans and rice in the salad. Best taco salad ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
this is my go-to taco salad recipe. I have made it for co-workers, friends & family. I even did this recipe for my twin brother a couple days before he was to get hitched for him and his (now) spouse's family. easy to do in any kitchen. Recommend this for everyone and all levels of cooking experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I wish they had not said to pour in the chips! I was planning on having this for lunch tomorrow too. The chips will probably be all soggy, won't they? I knew enough to not put the lettuce in but I didn't think about the chips until the very moment I started stirring them around. DOH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe with no changes. I was skeptical of ranch dressing and natcho doritos but the flavors together were better than using catalina dressing as I have in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Was a huge hit at dinner last week. Only complaint I didn't make extra lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
REALLY good recipe. I fixed it EXACTLY as written, my typical process. I would not change anything, NOT typical of me !!! This had a really nice balance of flavors, colors, and texture. OK .... I added just a sprinkle of crushed red pepper to the ranch dressing for a bit more kick. THANKS SUE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Good base recipe. Used half a packet of taco seasoning, black beans, and a bit salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States