Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Took this to a potluck and brought home an empty bowl. It's a hit! Threw some black olives on top. Definitely use corn chips in the salad. More authentic. Eat Doritos later buy themselves. This brought back fond memories of one of my fav'rit potluck staples a lady in our church was famous for. Yeah! Now I have my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
My family and me could live off this salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was delicious! We didn't use tomatoes (hubby doesn't like them) and used ground turkey, but I would go with ground beef next time for fuller flavor. We also added some fresh avocado, and that went great with it. This is incredibly, easy, budget friendly, and incredibly tasty! The ranch dressing is a great addition to the taco seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I used Doritoes, added a 1/2 of a small jar of mild salsa and added avocado and olives. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Absolutely delicious!! I made a couple substitutions (ground turkey for beef, corn chips for flavored ones) but everything came out wonderfully. The ranch dressing + taco mix combo is outstanding. The flavor resembles "cool ranch" chips or the "baja" sauce at a certain taco chain. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I thought this was DELICIOUS! I was definitely worried about the outcome because I don't love ranch, but I tried it and I'm glad I did! I did make some changes though--I used ground turkey, an entire can of kidney beans, much less cheese (probably less than a cup) and no chips--we just made the mixture minus the chips and served it in totillas. I would definitely suggest adding all the ingredients minus the lettuce and putting it in the microwave for a minute or so because the cheese melts and becomes more of a creamy mixture. I also added some other taco toppings such as chiles and black olives. But a great recipe and the ranch isn't overpowering at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Received this from Cooknik and it is outstanding. I made each salad individually in a bowl. Used plain tortilla chips, mixed greens (My husband requested spinach leaves for a fuller texture the next time we make this), and added chopped avocado. Hubby used the ranch dressing and loved it. I used Catalina dressing and that is a wonderful combination for those of us who don't care for ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was AMAZING- a new family favorite, and so quick and easy. I highly recommend adding a cut up avocado- it adds that little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very Very Good! Served with a sliced Avacodo and a dallop of Sour Cream on the side - Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was a great dish! Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States