Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
My family loves this salad for dinner, especially during the summer when it is hot. I make my own ranch dressing and make several additions: chopped tomatoes, cucumber and green onion, sliced black olives, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My review for this recipe disappeared! This is one of our favorite meals in this house. Any kind of ground meat will work (I usually use ground turkey or chicken), I make my own taco seasoning/ranch dressing and I like to use organic black beans in place of the kidney beans. Sometimes, I'll mix a half cup of homemade salsa into the ranch dressing. Any kind of chips will do--we alternate between Doritoes, Fritos and chili-lime tortilla chips. Because I eat low carb, I skip the chips on mine and double up on the lettuce. This is also a great way to use up leftover taco meat from the night before for a quick lunch. You can layer them so everything is ready to go in the container--just make sure that you seperate your dressing or make it so the dressing is on the bottom and not touching your lettuce otherwise it will wilt quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I love this recipe. We always make it for any gathering. The only thing we do different is the dressing. We use Creamy Italian, preferrably Seven Seas or Kens. We have also used Catalina dressing. But I prefer the Creamy Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is so simple and so good! I usually brown a chopped onion with my ground beef. Also, I add in a drained can of petite diced tomatoes. I have used different dressings and pretty much use either Ranch or Catalina. I have also subbed Fritos for the Doritos. I added shredded lettuce once, but would not recommend unless you know that it will all be eaten immediately. I usually have a carton of sour cream and also some chopped green onions for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
We really like this taco salad, my son said he would eat it, if I made it without the beans! It makes a very large salad. I used the ranch dressing with sour cream in it, it was very good. My husband had lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Simple and delicious! Plus it didn't take long to put together. I used "Taco Seasoning II" to brown the ground beef. I also added some avocado and sliced black olives along with the cheese, lettuce, tomato, and sliced green onion. I opted for plain tortilla chips vs. nacho flavored and used "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site as the dressing. All that was left to do was add a well placed dollup of sour cream - fabulous for a tasty weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
When this came out as a cooknik recipe for November, I tried it and my family loved it. I used doritos natural white cheddar nacho chips because they have no hydrogenated oil. Instead of mixing all together in 1 bowl, I let my family assemble theirs individually. I also had pico de gallo, avocado, jalapenos and sour cream available. Ranch seems wierd on a taco salad, so we used 1000 island mixed with the pico de gallo. Everyone had fun making and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This salad was great! I made a few changes. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, corn tortilla chips instead of nacho ones, and catalina dressing instead of ranch. Also served it with sour cream. Great dish for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I thought this recipe was very good. I used Fat Free Italian dressing instead of the Ranch. My Husband really liked it and said it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I love this recipe because it is so easy- and uses only ingredients I always have on hand. THANK YOU!! I use baked doritos to add flavor and lower the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States