Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I probably shouldn't try to rate this because I made a three major changes. I give it the full five stars because I'm sure the original is just as delicious. First, I am a vegetarian and used Morningstar Farms Mealstarter hamburger. Then, instead of commercial taco seasoning, I used my own homemade mixture. I do not like either the chemicals or the amount of salt in the commercial preparations. I used a homemade tomato salsa mixed into yogurt for the dressing to painlessly cut down on fat and calories. This version was a huge hit with family and friends. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Simple and delicious! Plus it didn't take long to put together. I used "Taco Seasoning II" to brown the ground beef. I also added some avocado and sliced black olives along with the cheese, lettuce, tomato, and sliced green onion. I opted for plain tortilla chips vs. nacho flavored and used "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site as the dressing. All that was left to do was add a well placed dollup of sour cream - fabulous for a tasty weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is also good with Catalina Dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Love this recipe and so does my kids, relatives and friends! I'm always being asked to make this for ppl and it's the easiest dish in the world to make. I do make a few changes though. First of all, i use WISHBONE RUSSIAN DRESSING and I highly recommend trying this. it is sooo good, and I use a can of pinto beans and add chopped tomatoes. I also add a few drops of tobasco sauce to taste to the hamburger/dressing mixture. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've made this same salad for 30 years- but I add refried beans to my meat mixture and cool it before crumbling into the salad.. we like catalina dressing.. I also add avacado and black olives..when I mix up salad, I then serve it on plates with a dollop of sour cream and salsa---I also serve a fresh fruit platter and blueberry muffins to round a summer meal..delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This recipe is good but it definitly needs some chopped avocado added at the end and a 4 oz can of sliced black olives. Also - Green Goddess dressing really has a nice tang and our family likes it better than ranch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This has been a family favorite for years but we always make it with 1000 Island dressing and little salsa mixed in. I even make a veggie version with Morningstar Crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Have made several times for family get-togethers, but have found that my family likes this with regular chips, small jar of salsa, and Western dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was Delicious, but I used Catalina Dressing instead of Ranch and it brought out the Taco flavoring a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe for years. I use 1000 Island salad dressing instead of the ranch and add about 1/2 cup salsa to the dressing. I also brown some onion with the ground beef. I have avocado and sour cream for added toppings. I find it better to assemble individually, because leftovers get soggy if you mix it all together.........and it's fun for people to do their own thing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States