Sue's Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This has been a family favorite for years but we always make it with 1000 Island dressing and little salsa mixed in. I even make a veggie version with Morningstar Crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Have made several times for family get-togethers, but have found that my family likes this with regular chips, small jar of salsa, and Western dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was Delicious, but I used Catalina Dressing instead of Ranch and it brought out the Taco flavoring a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe for years. I use 1000 Island salad dressing instead of the ranch and add about 1/2 cup salsa to the dressing. I also brown some onion with the ground beef. I have avocado and sour cream for added toppings. I find it better to assemble individually, because leftovers get soggy if you mix it all together.........and it's fun for people to do their own thing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Try it with Thousand Island Dressing instead of Ranch. It is amazing and yes even the cold leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Been making this for years but with a few differences others may enjoy. I use very lean beef (93/7) and add chopped onion while browning. I will also add corn if i have a left over cob from another meal. Instead of Ranch, i use a combo of salsa, ketchup and lite sour cream for kind of a latin 100 island. I also use padrinos reduced fat chips and 2% sharp cheddar. If i don't have kidney beans (which are my preference) black or pinto beans do in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malibumermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Catalina dressing instead of Ranch is the only way to go with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My family loves it when I make this. We make several different variations. We use Doritos, advocado, canned corn, black olives, & red beans for a variety of toppings to include the tomatoes & cheese. For the dressing, we always use CATALINA FRENCH Dressing and Mild/Medium Taco Sauce. TRY IT - sweet and spicy - yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have made something similar to this. You might consider trying this recipe with 1000 island dressing, its quite good! Very tasty. We would not pre-mix the meat, beans with the salad. Leftovers keep better if you keep the heated items seperate from the salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is also my mother in law's recipe for taco salad and we have been making it for years. When we take it to potlucks or 4th of July gatherings everyone loves it! I use red onion instead of green and add olives and a little fresh minced cilantro. We used to use the taco flavored Doritos but they are hard to find so the nacho cheese are good too. I know alot of people have mixed the ranch with the salsa but I have always just mixed the salad with the ranch and let everyone top their individual servings with the salsa. This recipe makes a ton so if I make this for dinner, I make everything and divide all the ingredients in half and store them in separate containers in the fridge and mix only half the ingredients together and do the same thing the next night so the salad if fresh and not soggy. Sometimes I find this salad a little salty/overpowering and wonder if I would prefer the Catalina but everyone (especially my husband) loves it and tells me I'm crazy and not to change a thing! Lol! Also, I think this salad definitely has to have the kidney beans in it, they lend a slight sweetness that is delicious! I think I will surprise my hubby and make this for dinner soon! Thanks for reminding me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States