Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is the first hot fudge sauce recipe I ever tried and it will be the last. This sauce is sooooo good! I did increase the cocoa to 1/2 a cup and added the handful of semi sweet chocolate chips as was suggested by another reviewer. Homemade ice cream with hot fudge here we come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
WAY too sweet. I added salt (quite a bit) and 6 oz. unsweetened chocolate to make it more chocolatey, then 1/3 cup more cocoa to make it thicker. Still just o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
After reading the reviews, I also made some adjustments to this recipe. The consistency was good and it re-heated just fine. I still used the same amount of butter but only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I used the same amount of cocoa powder and added in 1/4 cup of milk chocolate chips. I only used 1/2 a can (a little over 6 oz.) of evaporated milk. I also added a pinch of kosher salt and stirred constantly; gentle boil on low-med heat with a whisk for the 7min. (instead of blending). After I removed it from the heat, I let it stand for about 1 min. and then added 2 tbsp of 35% cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Loved this recipe. The quantity that it yields makes it good for gift giving, I got three jars out of it. I didn't put it in the blender, but whisked until smooth. I don't think it made a big difference. I also stirred in about a cup of dark chocolate chips. It reheated nicely with a few seconds in the microwave. It was a big hit with my company:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm glad I halved the recipe. It makes alot. It was easy to do but I was hoping for a richer chocolate taste. So I added a 1/2 ounce of bittersweet to the 1/2 recipe I was making. That seemed to help. But once this is taken of the burning it firms up pretty quick and then when I tried to reheat it was gritty and greasy. I think I like a fudge sauce with corn syrup better, it helps to get the sauce more ooey-gooey and helps to keep it from being grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
great sauce using ingredients that are usually in the pantry. This makes a very large batch. It keeps well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this sauce when I was craving some serious hot fudge. I thought, from the reviews, that it would be great, but found it to be lacking the intense chocolate flavor I was wanting. I even added a bit more cocoa and a handful of choc chips, as suggested by others. It was good the first night, but did not reheat well- very grainy. Will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Incredible! It thickened slightly as it cooled, though it took a while. I woudl suggest not servign it immediatly, make it an hour ahead and stick it in your crock pot on wam setting. I made it for a scout court of honor to go over brownies an ice cream. What a hit. I made it just as the recipe specified, though I added the salt someone else had suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I did change the recipe a bit according to previous suggestions- decrease sugar to 2 cups, add another 1/3 c cocoa powder and 1 tsp salt. I also sifted all dry ingredients several times so I didn't have to blend the sauce. It does taste like Sanders hot fudge sauce. Yummy! You should note that this sauce doesn't reheat up well. I made it the day before I needed it. It was very buttery and didn't blend well. Use the day the make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a delicious bowl of wonderful goodness! I did make a few changes to the recipe but only for my personal preference. I don't like overly sweet things so I decreased the sugar to 2 cups per other reviews, doubled the cocoa and added a pinch of salt. I had no problems with crystallization since I stirred it during the entire boiling process and didn't need to blend it after. This is a great hot fudge sauce that you can adapt to your personal tastes and make it as sweet or as chocolately as you like. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States