Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent hot fudge - I used it for the middle layer of an ice cream cake. Don't skip the final step to blend the sauce in a blender, it makes it super creamy. I tried some of the sauce that was left in the pan while the rest of the sauce was blending away and though it tasted great the texture wasn't anywhere near as lovely as the final product from the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Perfect! I halved the recipe. Made exactly one pint. I made this to pour over chocolate cake :) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Easy and was better than any store bought hot fudge! Set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
dI made this for my husband because he wanted some Hot Fudge for his ice cream and we were out. He said it was was goo but too sugary. I liked it, but I am not a huge fan of chocolate, however it wasn't that chocolately to me. I used evaporated milk and it DID taste more caramel to me. Maybe next time I will add more cocoa. I store it in a empty coffee creamer bottle for easy pouring. Overall, great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I'm not one for chocolate anything, but I made it for my chocolate-loving hubby and daughter as a fudge topping for vanilla ice cream tonight. They liked it, but didn't LOVE it. I halved the recipe, using only 1 cup sugar and subbing out half & half instead. I didn't want to use the blender, so tried whisking it the whole time, but I found the recipe and reviewers are correct: the blending DOES indeed, make a difference in the final outcome. The immersion blender right in the saucepan did the trick as far as producing a silky smooth, thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this hot fudge sauce and it is really good. Way better than any store bought I have tried. I see what people are saying about it tasting "caramely" and no, I didn't use the wrong milk, I used evaoporated milk. I am wondering if the addition of the vanilla did it. Not sure. To me, it tasted more chocolatey before I added it. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND BLENDING it as directed. I considered skipping that step, but decided to follow through. I was rewarded for my efforts as it made the smoothest sauce ever! Very nice consistency. It was nowhere near that silky before blending. I boiled it a few minutes longer than the directions because it was too liquidy for my taste. I did it to slightly under "soft ball stage". It is perfect for ice cream, cheesecake or just random sampling right from the spoon! Next time, I will probably add more cocoa and no vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Killer. I used half and half instead of evaporated milk and it worked amazingly. It's a very sweet recipe... but it IS hot fudge after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I love this recipe and use it all the time! I too add a tsp or so of salt and leave out the vanilla. Every time I walk by the fridge I find my self dipping into it! I have one question though and wondered if somebody could help. Since this makes a pretty generous amount I usually have some left. I pour what's left in a quart jar and put it in the fridge. However, most of the time it crystallizes. Not aways, but most of the time. Is there a trick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made this three times. I love how easy this is. It gets thick, so just wait. Once it cools down it starts to thicken. I made it without blending and then tried it with blending just to compare and I'll always blend it now. It makes it silky smooth. I did have a problem with the sugar crystallizing. I doesn't happen the first day or the second, but if I put it in the fridge then it starts. I read how you're supposed to be able to stop it from happening and that is to make sure every crystal of sugar is melted and nothing is left on the side of the pot. Use a spatula! I'm also keeping it out of the fridge. This does seem to help although I'm not sure how long it keeps like this. But it doesn't last long in my house. I think this would be great canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was great! I halved it and used milk with a bit of cream instead of evaporated milk and it turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States