Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
YUM!! I added another 1/3 cup cocoa it was a little weak without it. Blending it was key and so worth making it homemade! We made homemade vanilla ice cream to go with this fudgy sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This has a wonderful consistency--even after being chilled! It wasn't as chocolately as I like though, so will be adding a bit more cocoa powder and a bit less sugar next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Good base recipe, but I made revisions per several reader suggestions, so it isn't fair to rate this recipe, but wanted to share...end result was more than excellent! I doubled the recipe to take to an ice cream social. For double the recipe: I used 2 sticks of butter, 4 C sugar, 1.5 C cocoa, one can evaporated milk, filled the empty can with half and half, 1 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. cornstarch, added extra vanilla, 'cuz I love it! I sifted all the dry ingredients together, before mixing with wet. Boiled for about 10 minutes or so, it was pretty smooth already from me sifting dry ingredients, but used my immersion blender when finished boiling. It was SOOOO good! Very smooth. Didn't taste one bit like caramel, due to the extra cocoa. It was a HUGE hit. People couldn't keep their spoons out of it and several asked for the recipe. Thank you Sue and thank you readers for the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
My new favorite! I actually made a mistake which made this perfect for me - I cut the recipe in half but forgot to cut the cocoa in half. It came out perfect! Fudgey taste, not overly sweet, just right. My old family recipe has been replaced, can't wait to have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Not quite the hot fudge taste I was looking for. Was really smooth at first then after reheating 4 times it became grainy. It makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I increased the cocoa to 1/2 c. after reading the reviews. When I made this, I handled it much the way I cook fudge- I stirred it until it came to a boil, and then I completely left it alone while it boiled. Once the 7 minutes were up, I let it cool for a bit, then used my hand mixer and mixed it for about 5 minutes on high, adding the vanilla towards the end. By that time, it was nice and thick and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Looking for a hot fudge sauce I could give as gifts, I turned to this recipe since it had such great reviews. I always use Domino sugar in my baking because it is not a grainy sugar. It dissolved and cooked down so well that I considered skipping the blender step but I didn't. I used my hand held blender right in the pan. The sauce turned out super creamy and smooth which made for a wonderful mouth feel. However, the cocoa powder did not give it the deeper fudge taste I was looking for. I agree with other reviewers in that it was "caramel-like" and I did use evaporated milk and not sweetened condensed. To me there is a difference between chocolate and fudge favors and this reminds me more of a hot chocolate sauce instead of a hot fudge. It's good - just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
i used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of cocoa , 2 cups of sugar and 1 can of evaporated milk..boiled for 10 minutes and it was amazing..it thickens after it cools..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this last night and I have to admit I'm craving some right now. It's a super rich, super thick, chocolatey piece of heaven. This is the one time I simply could not give my son the spoon. I was addicted from the word go lol. I did make two adjustments however, I added a nice big handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips and I used margarine instead of butter. No particular reason for the butter switch except for that's what I had on hand. I used the chocolate chips to tone down some of the sweetness that was going on. This recipe is excellent!!! There's a turtle brownie hot fudge sundae with my name on it just waiting to be made. Good eats everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I love this recipe however I do decrease the sugar and add more cocoa. My family raves about it and would eat the entire jar by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States