Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
wonderful !! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
For being as simple as this is, great recipe! It wasn't the best fudge sauce ever, which is why I only am giving it four stars. I did make some modifications to it, though, and everyone liked it still. We ran out of sugar two cups through, so I used a cup of brown sugar as well; skipped the vanilla extract; and also the skipped the blender step. As I said earlier, this is an epic recipe for being so easy. I think that to get the perfect fudge sauce recipe you would need a much more difficult recipe, so I'll probably stick with this unless I find an easy, better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. You really do need to put in blender for the ultimate texture. I tried it before and after blending and it was so much better after, although not a must. I used regular Hershey's cocoa but have a Dutch process cocoa arriving in the mail soon and will try that when it arrives. It has a higher percentage of fat in it and wonder if it'll be a richer chocolate flavor. I don't think it's too sweet, after all it's hot fudge! This will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wonderful fudge sauce! It was perfect and so easy! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and went with 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup coco and 1 scant cup butter (salted) After boiling I cooled for 15 minutes then I blended for the four minutes. I added about 1-2 tblsp of whipping cream when I blended. It was perfect warm or cold! As someone who is allergic to soya, it is impossible to find things these days that do not contain it. Being able to make a treat like this is great and that it only takes a few minutes means I can make it whenever I need to. A big thank-you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsitwist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
YUM!! I added another 1/3 cup cocoa it was a little weak without it. Blending it was key and so worth making it homemade! We made homemade vanilla ice cream to go with this fudgy sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This has a wonderful consistency--even after being chilled! It wasn't as chocolately as I like though, so will be adding a bit more cocoa powder and a bit less sugar next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Good base recipe, but I made revisions per several reader suggestions, so it isn't fair to rate this recipe, but wanted to share...end result was more than excellent! I doubled the recipe to take to an ice cream social. For double the recipe: I used 2 sticks of butter, 4 C sugar, 1.5 C cocoa, one can evaporated milk, filled the empty can with half and half, 1 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. cornstarch, added extra vanilla, 'cuz I love it! I sifted all the dry ingredients together, before mixing with wet. Boiled for about 10 minutes or so, it was pretty smooth already from me sifting dry ingredients, but used my immersion blender when finished boiling. It was SOOOO good! Very smooth. Didn't taste one bit like caramel, due to the extra cocoa. It was a HUGE hit. People couldn't keep their spoons out of it and several asked for the recipe. Thank you Sue and thank you readers for the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
My new favorite! I actually made a mistake which made this perfect for me - I cut the recipe in half but forgot to cut the cocoa in half. It came out perfect! Fudgey taste, not overly sweet, just right. My old family recipe has been replaced, can't wait to have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Not quite the hot fudge taste I was looking for. Was really smooth at first then after reheating 4 times it became grainy. It makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I increased the cocoa to 1/2 c. after reading the reviews. When I made this, I handled it much the way I cook fudge- I stirred it until it came to a boil, and then I completely left it alone while it boiled. Once the 7 minutes were up, I let it cool for a bit, then used my hand mixer and mixed it for about 5 minutes on high, adding the vanilla towards the end. By that time, it was nice and thick and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States