Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Just made this and even though I loved it - I only gave it four stars because of slight changes. After reading reviews I added a pinch of salt, 1 oz. unsweetened chocolate, and less sugar (I used 2-1/4 c.). Because my blender recently broke, I whisked during cooking as another reviewer stated -perfect texture! Also, not sure it actually boiled the entire 7 minutes, but I didn't want it to burn! Use EVAPORATED milk and it won't taste like caramel! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Loved it! Easy. Made this last night and I even altered it to make it dairy free using coconut milk and substituted raw sugar. I did only use 2 cups of sugar but did not change anything else, it was perfect consistency and today I checked to see how the consistency was and it is even better, beautiful, smooth and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
So delicious that we will not need to purchase hot fudge sauce ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great sauce! I won't be changing anything. I thought the blender was overkill at first but not now. The recipe turned out ok, but nothing special until I put it through the blender. So silky smooth and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I think the evaporated milk is the thing that sets it apart from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieinboise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I usually follow a recipe exactly at least once before I make any alterations, but btertin's scientific analysis impressed me so much that I followed his instructions and used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3, and only 1 and 1/3 sticks of butter. The sauce came out GREAT. Once it spent the night in the fridge and then was reheated, it was the perfect hot fudge consistency. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I thought this was awesome chocolate sauce, but did not have the the consistency of hot fudge sauce at all. It turned out thick but not thick like fudge. Taste was fabulous though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent sauce. I might cut out one cup of sugar the next time. I added two large handfulls of chocolate chips which added to the sweetness so less sugar would have worked better. I did blend it well and it turned out smooth like silk. It makes a fair bit so refridgerate the leftovers. I reheated mine in the microwave and it turned out just like it did when fresh. My husband, who rarely eats ice cream, loaded up a bowl once he tasted this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Normally wouldn't rate five star if I made modifications but this recipe is THAT GOOD and should not be missed. Sue's Hot Fudge is FIVE STAR HOT FUDGE if modified per other reviewers: Cut sugar to 2c. Add a handful of semi-sweet chocolate (Ghiradelli or Nestle Chips). Literally EVERYONE who we served this to raved about the fudge and asked for the recipe - the ultimate compliment if you ask me! This fudge, and a spoon, could solve world peace. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very tasty, but more like a thick chocolate sauce than hot fudge. It tastes to me like melted no-bake cookies. Per other reviewers, I upped the cocoa to about 1/2 cup and decreased the sugar to 2 cups, but it was still not quite as rich and dark as true hot fudge sauce. I was hoping for a cheaper alternative to store bought, and adding a huge brick of dark chocolate makes it a lot more expensive. Still, it is really good, and I have been sneaking to the fridge to get out spoonfuls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States