Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Sue, this sauce is amazing! However, I tend to follow other people's reviews and cut the butter down to 1 1/3 sticks. Also, AND I HOPE IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE YOU READ THIS... the amount of sugar in this recipe is off. Previously, when I went to store it, it would crystallize really bad in my fridge over time. I'm an engineer, so I figured I'd check it out. It turns out, when the liquid in this recipe is hot it can hold 3 cups of sugar (supersaturated solution). When it cools to the temperature of your fridge (about 40 F), sugar begins to precipitate out of the mixture and crystallize. You can heat it back up and stir and stir and it will dissolve again, but I calculated and tested, and the recipe is actually 1 cup over the maximum amount of sugar allowable by chemistry. If you don't want to have to reheat it for so long to get rid of the sugar crystals, cut the recipe down to 2 c sugar. It's still plenty sweet and the consistency isn't effected. AWESOME recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My kids are always disappointed when we run out of this quick and easy topping. For a more fudgy flavor I double the cocoa to 2/3c, and reduce the sugar to 2 1/2c. Also, to minimize crystallization that some people complain about, I add 1T corn syrup. For simplicity, I continuously whisk the mixture while boiling instead of using a blender. With the corn syrup added, this keeps fine for quite some time in the refrigerator without growing sugar crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is very good. I followed the advise of others and added about a tsp of salt. I was about 1/4 cup short on butter so after it boiled the 7 min I added about 3 TBSP peanut butter along with the tsp of vanilla. I didn't need to blend this. Definitely a keeper with or without the pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I love this hot fudge sauce. It was so quick to make. And, it tastes very similar to Sander's a favorite of mine. The ingredient list was also with items I always have in the home an added bonus. And, I found it refridgerates up real nicely, as it stays a velvety pouring consistency. I have tried other hot fudge sauces with chocolate chips and heavy cream, and this one was much better in taste and texture. For ease I used a hand-emulsion blender for 3 minutes after the sauce was slightly cooled. Quick edit note: This recipe makes quite a lot of sauce, over 4 cups. I froze 3/4 of it and still had plenty for everyone I was serving. I might try to cut the recipe back some or can some of it. But, well worth making. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Good, but I'm looking for a great hot fudge sauce recipe and, for me, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Ensure blender lid is firmly on. See picture #7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
YUMMY!!! I made this last night and had to leave my 5 stars!! I followed the recipe with the exception of increasing the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup as suggested by others and I also added about a teaspoon of expresso powder. I set the timer once it came to a boil and boiled it exactly 7 minutes, stirring constantly. I removed it from the burner after 7 mins and poured into the blender and set the time for 4 mins and turned on the blender. ( I accidently added the vanilla with the other ingredients to the pan, instead of after I removed it from the heat, however it came out fine). After blending 4 mins I poured it over Ice cream which was sitting on a freshly baked brownie!! My husband loved it!! The sauce came out smooth and velvety!! I think blending is crucial!!! Don't skip that step!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Loved this sauce! It is wonderful and very easy to make. Like some of the previous reviewers before me I chose to blend it while in the pan with my hand blender. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to balance the sweetness. It was excellent and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Too buttery! That's all I could taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was good still warm from the stovetop, but it had a grainy texture after it was refridgerated. Maybe I cooked it too long? I might try this again in a much smaller batch so I won't have to worry about storing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States