Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was good still warm from the stovetop, but it had a grainy texture after it was refridgerated. Maybe I cooked it too long? I might try this again in a much smaller batch so I won't have to worry about storing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I love this sauce, but I didn't think 1/3 cocoa was quite enough. I ended up doubling it, and it was perfect! It is smooth and creamy and reheats just fine. A few people complained of it crystalizing. This would be a result of it being cooked too long/hot. Use a candy thermometer and make sure to call it a day once the temp reaches 220 degrees. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was awesome!! If you like it thicker like I do, use half of the evaporated milk and complete with half and half cream. I didn't have to blend at all. Delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Excellent, used bar chocolate and worked great...thick and creamy...didn't need to boil as long as it said either...will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Quick and easy yet very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
delicious....and a real life-saver. Made another fudge sauce and it turned out chunky and separated. So made this at the last minute for a bridal shower to serve over coconut cake...needed something fudgy and thick, and this was perfect. As per other hints, I added 1/2 c. cocoa and a handful of choc. chips, and I whisked it while it was boiling and skipped the blender. Can't imagine it being any more smooth or creamy. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Using the blender makes this sauce very smooth and creamy, don't skip this step! I, too, added a handful of semi sweet choc. chips to the mixture, but could've added them while it was blending instead. I stirred in a 1/4 tsp of instant coffee granules along with more cocoa for a decadent, rich, deep chocolate experience. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I probably shouldn't review this since I made so many changes, but for those who want to make this non-dairy, here's how to do it. Use margarine instead of butter (1/2 c. is enough), soy milk instead of evaporated milk, and add 4 ounces of chocolate to make up for thinner consistency. Melt the margarine and chocolate, and then add the sugar and soy milk. Cook for ten minutes. I skipped the blending, but it was grainy once slightly cooled, so next time I'd blend it. This sauce is thick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was my first time making hot fudge sauce, and it is DELICIOUS! I added 1/2 cup of cocoa, instead of 1/3. I added 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee as well. Boiled it for 7 minutes, and then blended it. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This sauce was excellent. I have to admit, i didn't have evaporated milk, so I just used regular whole milk, and added cornstarch for thickening. (it didn't get too thick, but the flavor was exceptional) I poured it over vanilla ice cream, and topped it with walnuts and chocolate sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States