Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
ok, I have finally found a hot fudge recipe that I am going to keep. I did change a few things, though. I did not add any vanilla. I added about 6 ounces and unsweetened baking chocolate, I thought after tasting it that it tasted like chocolate SAUCE not FUDGE, so that's why I added the extra chocolate. I also added almost a teaspoon of salt. It helped to cut down on the VERY sugary taste. I did not have to put the mixture into a blender, it was prefectly smooth by just whisking it, it also keeps very well in the fridge and reheats perfectly. oh I forgot to add, it DOES NOT taste like carmel, the people that say that MUST be using sweetened condensed milk, not evaporated milk. Oh, and it was just a tad bit thin at first, then once it cooled it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I love to make hot fudge and have used various recipes; some call for sweetened condensed milk, others call for sugar and evaporated milk, some with cocoa, others with choc chips. I decided to give this one a try after just not finding one quite thick enough or creamy enough. This was perfect. The consistency was excellent. I have made it numerous times now. I have upped the cocoa to almost 1/2 cup to prevent the caramel taste and give it a richer chocolate taste. I have also (after reading some reviews) added in a handful of semisweet choc chips. A tip to save on dishes and time is to use a hand blender while boiling on the stove instead of using a blender after cooking. I'm keeping this recipe and will be giving this out for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Another tip to follow up... We discovered that if you use only 1-1/3 cup of butter, it is slightly less thick and has less of a carmelized consistency and more like fudge rather than caramel. Also, for the left-over sauce, it is not grainy and does not crystalize. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Sue, this sauce is amazing! However, I tend to follow other people's reviews and cut the butter down to 1 1/3 sticks. Also, AND I HOPE IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE YOU READ THIS... the amount of sugar in this recipe is off. Previously, when I went to store it, it would crystallize really bad in my fridge over time. I'm an engineer, so I figured I'd check it out. It turns out, when the liquid in this recipe is hot it can hold 3 cups of sugar (supersaturated solution). When it cools to the temperature of your fridge (about 40 F), sugar begins to precipitate out of the mixture and crystallize. You can heat it back up and stir and stir and it will dissolve again, but I calculated and tested, and the recipe is actually 1 cup over the maximum amount of sugar allowable by chemistry. If you don't want to have to reheat it for so long to get rid of the sugar crystals, cut the recipe down to 2 c sugar. It's still plenty sweet and the consistency isn't effected. AWESOME recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Totally to LIVE FOR!!!! I don't rate many recipes 5 stars, but this deserves MORE! This was so easy to make. The only thing I did was to halve the recipe. My only caution would be if you have a blender that is made of plastic instead of glass and pouring in the hot liquid. I had a glass blender and had no problems. If you LOVE chocolate you need to try this one! This would be great with fruit or fondue. This is FANTASTIC just eating off the spoon when slightly cooled or even COLD the next day!! I served with buttermilk pound cake II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!! Make sure to blend the sauce-I have done it both ways-trying a shortcut once of not blending. The blending makes for the richest, smoothest sauce. I like to serve this over fudge brownies for brownie sundaes-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Ohhhh yum. This was a PERFECT ending to a HORRIBLE day! Even though when I was making it, it boiled over the pot all over my stove, which indeed was my fault, because against my better judgement I opted to use the smaller pot and of coarse the obvious happened (I'm having a really bad day) the end result of this was worth every bit! THANK YOU Lisa, this was the best part of my day, my P.J.s, A bowl of Breyers vanilla with your hot fudge sauce...and a nice cold beer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this last year for Christmas gifts and I already have them asking for this again this year. Starting making batches last night. I double the recipe and it almost makes 5 pints. In a double batch I use 1.5 cups of the Cocoa, 1Tbs vanilla and boil for 9-10 minutes. This gives a rich dark chocolate flavor. If you like milk chocolate then use a little less. Blending is the key as the cocoa will be grainy out of the pan. Blend it for at least a few minutes or until it becomes think and strains your blender. Also when reheating I use a measuring cup with water and put the hot fudge in the water or you can use a single serving in the microwave. This keeps the hot fudge from crystalizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
OMG!!! This is absolutely the best hot fudge sauce ever! I made only half the recipe but used the same 1/3 cup of cocoa. I also whisked the ingredients while it was cooking on the stove top and let it boil for 10 minutes. I still blended it even after whisking and it was still quite "runny" looking, but as soon as it cooled a bit it started to thicken up. Not grainy at all, perfect chocolate taste and for those who said it tasted like caramel, that's cause you probably used condensed milk. I'll be making this from now on to put on my ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is a really good homemade sauce, although I too wish it were thicker when warm; I might try cooking it longer next time to see if it gets thicker. For an extra rich gourmet touch, I added about 1/2 Tablespoon of Folgers instant coffee crystals before boiling. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States