Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I really did not like this. I made it exactly as directed. It tasted kind of like burnt plastic. It had to be the evaporated milk in it. I've made a recipe using heavy cream and chopped chocolate and it tasted like hot fudge sauce should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I don't understand. We did exactly what the recipe said and this didn't take anything like hot fudge. It was thin and it tasted a lot more like a caramel than a chocolate. Unfortunately, it wasn't good as I like caramel. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wow, this is good!!! It is very, very rich!!!! This recipe makes a ton, I wish I would have only made a 1/2 batch. I used this over a hot fudge cake that I made in the crockpot and cooked a little too long and paired it with fresh frozen vanilla custard. I made the recipe just as it stated but next time I will probably cut the amount of sugar as it tends to be on the too sweet side. A little bit definitely goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
worked well for peanut butter parfait desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was easy and made a LOT of sauce -- I made it for a large party (20+) and still had a lot left over. The reason for my "average" rating is that I didn't find the sauce to have a lot of depth -- I prefer a deep, dark chocolate flavor and felt this one was more sweet. I had added additional cocoa and some chocolate chips to try to add some depth, but think it could use some dark chocolate or coffee to make the flavor more complex. Good basic recipe, just not the total indulgence I'm looking for in hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good! I'm taking it to an old-fashioned "ice-cream social" tomorrow, where it's sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good! I've been on the hunt for a great hot fudge sauce recipe and this one holds the crown!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was a quick fix for that I have to have hot fudge but I don't have any store bought left. Also I always have these ingredients on hand anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used a hand blender right in the pan. Worked great, very smooth sauce. I also doubled the cocoa powder for a richer chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
made the changes. It hit the spot! It was just what I needed. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States