Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Of course, a last minute decision to make this to give as gifts = only having 1/6 cup cocoa powder in the house while all stores in the city are closed. I added 6 oz semisweet chocolate chips to make up for that, and also added a teaspoon of instant coffee crystals, and a pinch of salt. While it was still warm I tried a bit on top of some sweet potato pie, and after it had cooled I tried another spoonful before putting it into jars. It was great, not too sweet, and I like that the coffee added a very slight burnt taste -- in a good way. [FYI, I despise coffee and coffee-flavored things, but adding a tiny bit to chocolate just enhances the chocolate flavor.] This was so easy to make, I don't think I'll be buying hot fudge sauce from the store ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Mine hardened up on ice cream. It tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I really did not like this. I made it exactly as directed. It tasted kind of like burnt plastic. It had to be the evaporated milk in it. I've made a recipe using heavy cream and chopped chocolate and it tasted like hot fudge sauce should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I don't understand. We did exactly what the recipe said and this didn't take anything like hot fudge. It was thin and it tasted a lot more like a caramel than a chocolate. Unfortunately, it wasn't good as I like caramel. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wow, this is good!!! It is very, very rich!!!! This recipe makes a ton, I wish I would have only made a 1/2 batch. I used this over a hot fudge cake that I made in the crockpot and cooked a little too long and paired it with fresh frozen vanilla custard. I made the recipe just as it stated but next time I will probably cut the amount of sugar as it tends to be on the too sweet side. A little bit definitely goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
worked well for peanut butter parfait desert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was easy and made a LOT of sauce -- I made it for a large party (20+) and still had a lot left over. The reason for my "average" rating is that I didn't find the sauce to have a lot of depth -- I prefer a deep, dark chocolate flavor and felt this one was more sweet. I had added additional cocoa and some chocolate chips to try to add some depth, but think it could use some dark chocolate or coffee to make the flavor more complex. Good basic recipe, just not the total indulgence I'm looking for in hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good! I'm taking it to an old-fashioned "ice-cream social" tomorrow, where it's sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good! I've been on the hunt for a great hot fudge sauce recipe and this one holds the crown!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was a quick fix for that I have to have hot fudge but I don't have any store bought left. Also I always have these ingredients on hand anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States