Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is one of the best hot fudge sauces that I've ever made. I followed the directions exactly, using a quality pure vanilla extract. I drizzled this over homemade greek vanilla frozen yogurt--the boys went nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I followed the changes Erin made, except I used 6 oz of semisweet chocolate. I used this in my oreo ice cream cake. Its really good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I will never buy another jar of Hot Fudge sauce. This is awesome! Recipe makes 2 jars so I gave one to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Five stars with these adjustments: Used only 1/2 cup of butter, only 2 cups of sugar, and increased the cocoa powder to about 1/2 cup. It did not crystallize in the fridge with this method. So much better than any hot fudge I've found in a store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Ohh. Emm. Gee!My husband has a serious sweet tooth, and I normally make hot fudge with sweetened condensed milk and some type of baking chocolate or chocolate chips, but didn't have either. I had plenty of evaporated milk and cocoa powder so I googled and found this recipe. I can not believe how delish it was!! We had it on ice cream and then I put it in a container to keep in the fridge and there was a little bit too much sauce to fit in the container, so I ate it. It tasted like melted, warm brownie batter. I did only use 2 cups of sugar and 1 stick of butter (rather than 3 cups and 2 sticks), and I thought it tasted sweet enough. The 3 cups and 1 cup scared me!! lol. I let it boil for awhile (by accident actually, got sucked into Teen Mom), and it thickened really nicely. I didn't blend it because our 5 month old had just fallen asleep and I didn't want to wake her. Probably could have used the blending, but it was fine without it!!!! Thanks Lisa/Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It tasted great! Never thought to make it homemade until I saw a friend had made it, so I turned to allrecipes.com to find a recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was amazing!! I made this for my friend who is a professional chef and her family who are very picky eaters. They all raved about it! I did make two changes. I added a pinch of kosher salt, and I added 6 squares semi-sweet chocolate squares. I used my immersion blender the whole time it was boiling and it turned out fantastic. I also cooked it for 10 minutes instead of 7. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Of course, a last minute decision to make this to give as gifts = only having 1/6 cup cocoa powder in the house while all stores in the city are closed. I added 6 oz semisweet chocolate chips to make up for that, and also added a teaspoon of instant coffee crystals, and a pinch of salt. While it was still warm I tried a bit on top of some sweet potato pie, and after it had cooled I tried another spoonful before putting it into jars. It was great, not too sweet, and I like that the coffee added a very slight burnt taste -- in a good way. [FYI, I despise coffee and coffee-flavored things, but adding a tiny bit to chocolate just enhances the chocolate flavor.] This was so easy to make, I don't think I'll be buying hot fudge sauce from the store ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Mine hardened up on ice cream. It tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I really did not like this. I made it exactly as directed. It tasted kind of like burnt plastic. It had to be the evaporated milk in it. I've made a recipe using heavy cream and chopped chocolate and it tasted like hot fudge sauce should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States