Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Looking for a hot fudge sauce I could give as gifts, I turned to this recipe since it had such great reviews. I always use Domino sugar in my baking because it is not a grainy sugar. It dissolved and cooked down so well that I considered skipping the blender step but I didn't. I used my hand held blender right in the pan. The sauce turned out super creamy and smooth which made for a wonderful mouth feel. However, the cocoa powder did not give it the deeper fudge taste I was looking for. I agree with other reviewers in that it was "caramel-like" and I did use evaporated milk and not sweetened condensed. To me there is a difference between chocolate and fudge favors and this reminds me more of a hot chocolate sauce instead of a hot fudge. It's good - just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
i used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of cocoa , 2 cups of sugar and 1 can of evaporated milk..boiled for 10 minutes and it was amazing..it thickens after it cools..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this last night and I have to admit I'm craving some right now. It's a super rich, super thick, chocolatey piece of heaven. This is the one time I simply could not give my son the spoon. I was addicted from the word go lol. I did make two adjustments however, I added a nice big handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips and I used margarine instead of butter. No particular reason for the butter switch except for that's what I had on hand. I used the chocolate chips to tone down some of the sweetness that was going on. This recipe is excellent!!! There's a turtle brownie hot fudge sundae with my name on it just waiting to be made. Good eats everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was very good and makes alot even halving the recipe. I did blend it and found that the blended product had a different flavor than what was stuck to the sides of the pan which was also yummy! The texture turned carmel-like on the ice cream, maybe because I was a little short on evaporated milk. It is quite sweet, so I'll try it again using more cocoa powder or a darker one for more fudgy flavor. Thanks Sue, it definitely a keeper that satisfied my sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I can tell my looking at this recipe it will be a good one. If too sweet I can add more cocoa - no problem. I am disheartened to see see only three stars or less on some of these from people who changed the recipe them rated it down. The gentleman who scourched his must have been a beginner. To beginners: Start with low heat if and increase in increments because stoves differ (esp. electric) or cook in a double boiler. It may take longer, but it will save the sauce from burning. ; ) As an experienced cook I have no doubt this will come out a 5 for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent hot fudge - I used it for the middle layer of an ice cream cake. Don't skip the final step to blend the sauce in a blender, it makes it super creamy. I tried some of the sauce that was left in the pan while the rest of the sauce was blending away and though it tasted great the texture wasn't anywhere near as lovely as the final product from the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Perfect! I halved the recipe. Made exactly one pint. I made this to pour over chocolate cake :) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Easy and was better than any store bought hot fudge! Set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
dI made this for my husband because he wanted some Hot Fudge for his ice cream and we were out. He said it was was goo but too sugary. I liked it, but I am not a huge fan of chocolate, however it wasn't that chocolately to me. I used evaporated milk and it DID taste more caramel to me. Maybe next time I will add more cocoa. I store it in a empty coffee creamer bottle for easy pouring. Overall, great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I'm not one for chocolate anything, but I made it for my chocolate-loving hubby and daughter as a fudge topping for vanilla ice cream tonight. They liked it, but didn't LOVE it. I halved the recipe, using only 1 cup sugar and subbing out half & half instead. I didn't want to use the blender, so tried whisking it the whole time, but I found the recipe and reviewers are correct: the blending DOES indeed, make a difference in the final outcome. The immersion blender right in the saucepan did the trick as far as producing a silky smooth, thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States