Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I really wanted to try the recipe as written, but I couldn't help putting in a little more cocoa powder, which I will continue to do. The chocolate flavor is perfect with 1/2 cup instead of 1/3 cup. I wasn't convinced that the sauce needed to be blended, so I blended half of it and then compared after the sauce had cooled for 10 minutes or so. It was much better blended, so I blended all of it. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it isn't as thick as I would like to it to be while it is warm. When it cools off it gets much thicker, but I want to serve it warm. I do love that there is no corn syrup in it. I'm going to try the chocolate chip and sweetened condensed version of hot fudge that is all over the internet, but I expect to come back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This recipe is terrific, with two small modifications. I used one stick of butter rather than two, and I whisked the mixture with a piano whip constantly until it came to a boil, and about half the time during the seven minute boil. No need to dirty the blender. 'Best hot fudge sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Lamoreau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Fantastic with a little tweaking thanks to the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Amazing! I did leave out the vanilla, and added a bit of semi-sweet chocolate chips per some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe with a few tweaks: I used dark cocoa powder, which intensified the chocolate flavor; decreased the sugar to 2 c. to reduce the excessive sweet taste others described and used powdered sugar to eliminate the need to blend; and increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons -- purely a preference. I also didin't think it was thick enough at 7 mins so i boiled for 20 mins for a thicker, more fudge-like consistency. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
wonderful !! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
For being as simple as this is, great recipe! It wasn't the best fudge sauce ever, which is why I only am giving it four stars. I did make some modifications to it, though, and everyone liked it still. We ran out of sugar two cups through, so I used a cup of brown sugar as well; skipped the vanilla extract; and also the skipped the blender step. As I said earlier, this is an epic recipe for being so easy. I think that to get the perfect fudge sauce recipe you would need a much more difficult recipe, so I'll probably stick with this unless I find an easy, better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. You really do need to put in blender for the ultimate texture. I tried it before and after blending and it was so much better after, although not a must. I used regular Hershey's cocoa but have a Dutch process cocoa arriving in the mail soon and will try that when it arrives. It has a higher percentage of fat in it and wonder if it'll be a richer chocolate flavor. I don't think it's too sweet, after all it's hot fudge! This will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wonderful fudge sauce! It was perfect and so easy! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and went with 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup coco and 1 scant cup butter (salted) After boiling I cooled for 15 minutes then I blended for the four minutes. I added about 1-2 tblsp of whipping cream when I blended. It was perfect warm or cold! As someone who is allergic to soya, it is impossible to find things these days that do not contain it. Being able to make a treat like this is great and that it only takes a few minutes means I can make it whenever I need to. A big thank-you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsitwist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
YUM!! I added another 1/3 cup cocoa it was a little weak without it. Blending it was key and so worth making it homemade! We made homemade vanilla ice cream to go with this fudgy sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States