Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was my first time making hot fudge sauce, and it is DELICIOUS! I added 1/2 cup of cocoa, instead of 1/3. I added 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee as well. Boiled it for 7 minutes, and then blended it. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This sauce was excellent. I have to admit, i didn't have evaporated milk, so I just used regular whole milk, and added cornstarch for thickening. (it didn't get too thick, but the flavor was exceptional) I poured it over vanilla ice cream, and topped it with walnuts and chocolate sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Yum! Easy to make and thickened nicely once cooled. I did add extra cocoa per other reviewers' suggestions, but did everything else as stated. I probably added almost 2/3 cup of cocoa and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was a great base for hot fudge sauce, but it was too sweet. I upped the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup. Next time I will make this with 1 1/4 cups of sugar and add 1 tsp. of instant espresso powder. The addition of coffee intensifies the chocolate taste and adds depth of flavor. I didn't put the sauce into a blender, as I just whisked while cooking the sauce. I believe with the above changes, this could be a 5 star hot fudge sauce. Thanks Sue for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
After looking at the other hot fudge sauce recipes on this site I decided to try this one out as it had the ingredients that I had on hand... and I am SO GLAD that i did. I was a bit apprehensive though cause most of the others called for chocolate squares and confectioners sugar. Well this one turned out just like I wanted. I halfed the recipe cause it was just four of us (and I still had some leftover) and it turned out great... I still used about 1/3 cup of cocoa though. One thing I did different was that I DID NOT blend it. THe sauce had the right texture as is... served it hot and right out of the sauce pan and onto ice cream that was over "too much chocolate cake" which is also on this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgcookingal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent flavor. I made it low carb by adding splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I doubled the cocoa and didn't have a blender so I mixed it with my kitchen aid for the 4 minutes. It was my first time making homemade fudge sauce and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellaville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was just ok to me. I halved the recipe. I don't know why but it froze up when I added it to ice cream. So then it was just frozen chocolate strips. Not good. So then I thought I would try it again later. When I took it out of fridge and warmed it up it was very grainy. Does anyone know what went wrong? I've read alot of reviews and haven't really heard of this problem. Not sure I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5little1s

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I ADORE this recipe! Thanks for submitting. I tweaked it thusly: I sifted all my dry ingredients together before adding to the butter-adding a little cornstarch (maybe 1-2 teaspoons) since some said it wasn't thick enough when hot. That absolutely did the trick. I added a pinch of salt-never make anything sweet without it. I also took the suggestion and added just a pinch of instant coffee. It really does make the chocolate taste MORE chocolaty... Lastly-because I sifted the ingredients first (I think) it was quite smooth prior to blending but I have an immersion blender so I took that tip and used it and the sauce became even more silky. It was PERFECT. Adjust the cocoa to taste-if you want it richer, add more. If you want it more 'milk chocolate' this is fine. The longer you boil it, the more 'fudgy' the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is wonderful. I follow this recipe exactly. If I want a deeper chocolate flavoe, I just add more cocoa. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States