Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was delicious. I had a camel flavor and consistency to it. I just wish i had used evaporated milk that didn't have hydrogenated oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We have been making this for years...only fudge sauce allowed in our house. I always add a dash of salt to bring out the chocolate flavor. If you sift the cocoa with the sugar before adding there will be no lumps, no need to run through a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I will never buy hot fudge sauce from the store again. This is so easy and SOOOO good .... definitely the best when it's heated, though I've been known to eat a spoonful of it cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
this was very easy to make, but the resulting sauce is VERY sweet... the texture is nice, but i think i would follow the other reviewers suggestions next time and lower the sugar and increase the cocoa. if you can imagine melting actual fudge and pouring it over your ice cream, then this is the sauce for you. i prefer a less sweet topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Nice to throw together whenyou want Hot fudge and don't have any on hand. I think I prefer store bought but this was a good and easy sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I have made MANY different hot fudge sauce recipes, and this is the BEST and the easiest!!! We LOVE it! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Sue, this sauce is amazing! However, I tend to follow other people's reviews and cut the butter down to 1 1/3 sticks. Also, AND I HOPE IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE YOU READ THIS... the amount of sugar in this recipe is off. Previously, when I went to store it, it would crystallize really bad in my fridge over time. I'm an engineer, so I figured I'd check it out. It turns out, when the liquid in this recipe is hot it can hold 3 cups of sugar (supersaturated solution). When it cools to the temperature of your fridge (about 40 F), sugar begins to precipitate out of the mixture and crystallize. You can heat it back up and stir and stir and it will dissolve again, but I calculated and tested, and the recipe is actually 1 cup over the maximum amount of sugar allowable by chemistry. If you don't want to have to reheat it for so long to get rid of the sugar crystals, cut the recipe down to 2 c sugar. It's still plenty sweet and the consistency isn't effected. AWESOME recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
My kids are always disappointed when we run out of this quick and easy topping. For a more fudgy flavor I double the cocoa to 2/3c, and reduce the sugar to 2 1/2c. Also, to minimize crystallization that some people complain about, I add 1T corn syrup. For simplicity, I continuously whisk the mixture while boiling instead of using a blender. With the corn syrup added, this keeps fine for quite some time in the refrigerator without growing sugar crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TomB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is very good. I followed the advise of others and added about a tsp of salt. I was about 1/4 cup short on butter so after it boiled the 7 min I added about 3 TBSP peanut butter along with the tsp of vanilla. I didn't need to blend this. Definitely a keeper with or without the pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I love this hot fudge sauce. It was so quick to make. And, it tastes very similar to Sander's a favorite of mine. The ingredient list was also with items I always have in the home an added bonus. And, I found it refridgerates up real nicely, as it stays a velvety pouring consistency. I have tried other hot fudge sauces with chocolate chips and heavy cream, and this one was much better in taste and texture. For ease I used a hand-emulsion blender for 3 minutes after the sauce was slightly cooled. Quick edit note: This recipe makes quite a lot of sauce, over 4 cups. I froze 3/4 of it and still had plenty for everyone I was serving. I might try to cut the recipe back some or can some of it. But, well worth making. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States