Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
WOW this is a great hot fudge recipe! Infinitely better than anything you can buy at your local supermarket. Not sure how people are getting a "caramel" taste to it or why it's too sweet... maybe some are accidentally using sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk? I followed some suggestions from reviewers and used a little bit more butter (I think I put in 2.25 sticks) and upped the cocoa to 1/2 cup (we used Hershey's dark cocoa for our own taste preferences). REALLY delicious and not to sweet, no caramel taste or texture in the least. I will say that blending it is a really important step, even if it already seems pretty smooth. I was in the middle of a class when I made it, so it accidentally cooled on the counter for 2+ hours before I blended it. Putting it in the blender took it from still a bit thin to this perfect hot fudge consistency. Can't explain how it works, but it does - make sure you don't skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
YUM!! I made this tonight for my family and it was more than delicious. Thank you so much. Just as a side note, I put 2 cups sugar and 1 cup stevia. No one could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
very tasty hot fudge sauce - I may play around with choc chips instead of cocoa powder next time tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaNDenver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It turned out granulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
We have made this several times now and it is a family favorite! It is good just the way it is, but I like to cut the sugar to 2.5 cups, I also add a half teaspoon of salt. AMAZING!!! It is better, with real butter than margarine, but works either way. It is simply the best I have ever had and I am a picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Way too much sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is THE hot fudge sauce. Easy to make and delicious. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Really good! Like some others, I added more cocoa (1/2 cup more). Just cuz I'm a chocoholic! I stuck with the rest of the recipe as is (didn't cut down on butter). For the 7 minutes of boiling, I whisked pretty frequently. Almost constantly. Not quite. Did not use a blender to add the vanilla. I don't have a blender. Used a hand mixer directly in the pan. It did seem kind of thin, as others reported, at the time. After it cooled, and I reheated (in microwave) the consistency was perfect! Will definitely be a go-to for hot fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I halved the recipe to use up the evaporated milk I had left over from another recipe. There wasn't much of a chocolate taste so I increased the cocoa powder to the full 1/3 cup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This sauce is wonderful, not just as an ice cream topping, but also for dessert crepes, brownies, you name it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States