Sue's Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this recipe this afternonn with our fresh eggplant! It is delicious, I did after skimming over the reviews add a few drops of liquid smoke to the eggplant when I microwaved it and let it cool. It added a nice subtle flavor. Thanks for sharing it's my first attempt to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HexapodaFarm
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I really missed the smokey flavor that I'm use to in Baba Ghanoush. I thought it was on the bland side. Here are two ways I found that can add additional flavor. The first way is to just grill or saute slices or the eggplant before blending. Make sure you cook it until it is a dark brown. The other way (best) is to bake the whole eggplant with skin and all until the outside is chard. Then remove the skin and blend. The fist gives a light smokey flavor and the second method gives a full smokey flavor that just adds so much to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
So easy and very good. But, like a previous reviewer, the garlic was overwhelming. And I love garlic! I will make this again but cook the garlic slightly in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Increased the Tahini to 3 tbls, reduced the olive oil to 1/6 cup, and used 1 tsp garlic. Pureed in a blender, it was creamy with a hint of garlic. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a tad too tangy or maybe bitter for our liking. I would make it again next time I had an eggplant to use up, either scraping out the eggplant seeds and/or using less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Made exactly as stated and the garlic was much too much. I was disappointed. I kept adding more salt to cut the garlic flavor. No one in my family would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Perfect traditional recipe! This tastes just like the baba ghanoush at my favorite lebanese restaurant, where the owners are FROM Lebanon, where Baba Ghanoush comes from. :) Only thing I'd add is maybe some chopped parsley and pine nuts to garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dread Pirate Paramour

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
this reminds me of the baba ganoush that my grandmother made while I was growing up... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this exactly as stated. The garlic was overwhelming. I think next time I would try only 1/2 of what is called for. I could not get around the garlic taste (and I love garlic) so sadly I had to toss it. I gave it a 3 star beccause I think if adjusted right it may be good. I am a big fan of hummus and white bean dip and the concept here is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States