Succulent Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Simply the best chicken I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paula
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Best Roast dinner I've made so far. This recipe is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula
Home Town: Alabang, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Pasir Ris, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
For me this is a pretty basic recipe which I do with a few variations of my own, like massaging the chicken with lemon rind and butter. One tip that I must insist on never, never cover the bird with foil or anything else while it rests or you will just steam the beautiful golden crust. It needs no coverng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
it was crisp from outside tender from inside,iam only added an onion inside the cavity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This has become one of our family's favorite recipe. Tender and juicy on the inside crisp and flavourful on the outside. Although the grade of the meat does factor into the juicy and tenderness of the meat. I always use fresh, airchilled chicken. I do add salt and to taste otherwise everything else as per listed. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great chicken! And lived up to it's name-very succulent. Loved the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The perfect roast chicken – tender, juicy and SO flavorful. True to its name, this really was succulent. I stuck to the recipe fairly closely, although I rubbed the herb/olive oil mixture all over the chicken rather than just underneath the skin. I also stuck extra sprigs of rosemary and thyme and a good chunk of onion in the cavity along with the lemon. I roasted the chicken at 450 degrees for 20 minutes, then reduced the heat to 375 degrees and roasted for another 20 minutes per pound. (I had a 5-1/2 pound chicken so it was in the oven about 2 hours) I poured about a cup of chicken broth into the pan at the beginning, and the resulting juices made for a rich and delicious pan gravy, thickened just slightly with a little cornstarch and more chicken broth. I served this with roasted Yukon Gold potatoes (in the same pan last 40 minutes of cooking), Cauliflower with a Kick, Easy Garden Green Beans, Pumpkin Soup and a tossed green salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing, all recipes also from this site. With only six reviews, this recipe is not receiving the attention it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
roasted for 85-90 min 425 degree oven- 6lb chicken lemon zest 3 lemons, thyme,rosemary,garlic, 1tsp sugar,1tsp salt and a little olive oil- make paste an rub under skin roast in 1 cup water,2 cups chicken broth and lemon juice of the 2-3 lemons. add a bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I also stuffed the chicken using flavored crutons, chopped onions and a little chicken broth to moisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor combination. The lemon, rosemary and garlic complement each other well. I only had skinless chicken breasts on hand, so just put them on top the sliced lemon, spread the chopped garlic, rosemary, thyme, and olive oil mixture over the chicken and baked it for about 45 - 50 minutes. Probably should have baked them for a little less time. 40 minutes probably would have been about right for two chicken breasts that were almost 2 pounds. Be sure to scoop up some of the juices from the pan and drizzle on top the chicken before serving, for extra flavor and moisture (if you over cook your chicken like I did). Will definitely use this flavor combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States