Succulent Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
For me this is a pretty basic recipe which I do with a few variations of my own, like massaging the chicken with lemon rind and butter. One tip that I must insist on never, never cover the bird with foil or anything else while it rests or you will just steam the beautiful golden crust. It needs no coverng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The perfect roast chicken – tender, juicy and SO flavorful. True to its name, this really was succulent. I stuck to the recipe fairly closely, although I rubbed the herb/olive oil mixture all over the chicken rather than just underneath the skin. I also stuck extra sprigs of rosemary and thyme and a good chunk of onion in the cavity along with the lemon. I roasted the chicken at 450 degrees for 20 minutes, then reduced the heat to 375 degrees and roasted for another 20 minutes per pound. (I had a 5-1/2 pound chicken so it was in the oven about 2 hours) I poured about a cup of chicken broth into the pan at the beginning, and the resulting juices made for a rich and delicious pan gravy, thickened just slightly with a little cornstarch and more chicken broth. I served this with roasted Yukon Gold potatoes (in the same pan last 40 minutes of cooking), Cauliflower with a Kick, Easy Garden Green Beans, Pumpkin Soup and a tossed green salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing, all recipes also from this site. With only six reviews, this recipe is not receiving the attention it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor combination. The lemon, rosemary and garlic complement each other well. I only had skinless chicken breasts on hand, so just put them on top the sliced lemon, spread the chopped garlic, rosemary, thyme, and olive oil mixture over the chicken and baked it for about 45 - 50 minutes. Probably should have baked them for a little less time. 40 minutes probably would have been about right for two chicken breasts that were almost 2 pounds. Be sure to scoop up some of the juices from the pan and drizzle on top the chicken before serving, for extra flavor and moisture (if you over cook your chicken like I did). Will definitely use this flavor combination again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is very good. I did change a few things though... I used dried herbs (about 1/2-1 teaspoon each), skipped stuffing the bird with garlic and used margarine instead of the olive oil. I combined the margarine, herbs, 3-4 cloves of minced garlic, lemon zest and salt & pepper in a food processor to get it mixed really well. Rubbed this under the skin and all over the chicken. I did add 1/2 cup of water into my baking dish to avoid burning. I used a 2lbs. bird so I cooked it for a little less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
it was crisp from outside tender from inside,iam only added an onion inside the cavity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is the best chicken I have ever cooked!! The only thing I did different is I put the chicken in the crock pot instead of he oven. This will be a recipe that we use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I always make another whole chicken recipe from here but I think Ill start swapping it up with this one. A beautiful bird and smelled so good. I did shove both lemon halves into the cavity. Served with broc cheese rice and a green salad and french bread. It didnt feel like a weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great chicken! And lived up to it's name-very succulent. Loved the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This has become one of our family's favorite recipe. Tender and juicy on the inside crisp and flavourful on the outside. Although the grade of the meat does factor into the juicy and tenderness of the meat. I always use fresh, airchilled chicken. I do add salt and to taste otherwise everything else as per listed. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I also stuffed the chicken using flavored crutons, chopped onions and a little chicken broth to moisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States