Succulent Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL! We tried it with boneless pork roast and cooked it to 160. Since it was boneless, it took even less time than the posted receipe! We shared 20 pounds of the cooked meat, served with garlic mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables and cresesnt rolls to 36 of our fellow VFW and American Legion members for a recent K.C. Chiefs' football game! Many responses were "the best pork roast they have ever had...." "Wonderful" nd "Succulent" is VERY understated! It was the talk of the weekend and past week! Many have requested the receipe from us. The cherries really add to the flavor and color of the roast! SO VERY EASY! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I used these same ingredients and cooked a frozen roast in a slow cooker all day on "low" (minus the roasting bag). It was a hit with the whole family! Thank you. ...Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I utilized the basic idea of this recipe but instead of cherries..but used a large can of whole apricots with juice, mixed in brown sugar, honey, garlic pepper, minced garlic, and a few squirts of spicy mustard and mashed it all together for the glaze...turned out WONDERFUL and definately full of flavor!!!!! can add even more spice if desired...also, I stuffed it with minced garlic as it spreads the flavor better than the cloves....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This was a very good roast. I tried it because i had a pork roast to use up. I'm not normally a big pork fan but this one was definitely good. If ever i have to make pork roast again, I know which recipe to use. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This recipe was quite bland. I found the cherrys to be an interesting choice of ingedients, but was expecting a much more savory dish. The roast did come out very moist and tender, but did not have much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I just made this awhile ago. It is truly succulent as the name implies! The meat is so tender and juicy and the sauce from the cherries and meat is exquisite. It's not overly salty, which is good, and that's probably why a couple reviewers said it is bland. I disagree and find it delicious, and would fix it again. The better half said, "Good meal!" That's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Very good recipe, the entire family loves it. I have never used the oven bag but the roast still turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Love this recipe!! I had a 2 1/2 pund roast so cut the roasting time down to 1 1/2 hours and it was just right. I didn't have any cherries on hand so used Mandarin oranges and orange marmalade in place of the cherries. I added 1 T + 1 tsp of marmalade to the can of Mandarin Oranges and it was wonderful. The pork was fork tender and so juicy! I have stocked my larder with cherries so that I can use the exact recipe the next time we have pork. Thank you for sharing this recipe which is now a family favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seabrook, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This was my first attempt at a bone-in pork roast. It was so simple to prepare and my husband loved it. I only had a half a jar of cherries so I added a little extra water and I didn't have a roasting bag so I cooked it in covered Pyrex. I used the drippings to make gravy and it came out excellent. Now I just have to learn how to carve one of these roasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was the best pork roast I have ever had. Even my picky daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States