Succulent Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was a great recipe! I think the grilling option is probably better than the skillet option. I did it in the skillet and I had a lot of splattering and smoke. It got done a lot faster than the instructions, too (5 minutes on side 1 and 3 minutes on side 2). I used Football Forever's suggestion about the ginger paste, but with rice wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar: 1/4 tsp. dried ginger and 1/4 tsp. rice wine vinegar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. In the future I would make more marinade (it just barely covered the pork) and marinate it for a longer time (the marinade flavor was very subtle). I am also going to try SCC's suggestion and broil them in my mini-oven to reduce the smoke and splattering, but I don't know if I will still get the wonderful seared top and bottom. This method really made even boneless pork chops juicy and, as the name states, succulent. I haven't ever had boneless pork chops this wonderful: they are always boring and bland, which is why I usually use bone-in pork chops instead. Finally, it was extremely easy to make! There are absolutely no cons with the recipe other than the smoke and splattering, and those would definitely not occur on the grill. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a terrific recipe and I will be making it again. I didn't have ginger paste, so I substituted with 1/4 tsp dried ground ginger + 1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar. (Also, I'm not a fan of olive oil so I used canola oil.) I marinated the chops in the frig about 8 hours and cooked them in a cast iron skillet. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Best pork chops I've made in a while. I marinated them in plastic bag with olive oil, spices listed and added some fresh rosemary. Also took suggestion and added some red wine vinegar. Marinated them several hours. I used my new digital meat probe to verify that they were the correct temperature. They were done after 7 mins on the first side and 6 mins on the second side. They were very juicy and tender. I will make this again. After removing the pork chops, I put some mushrooms in the pan, added red wine, and cooked until they were done. Yummy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
i couldn't quite imagine what to expect but these were very tasty!! increased the spices--browned chops then baked covered in dutch oven at 350 for 30 min, on top of onion slices. had some coffee setting in a pot, so threw some of that in for liquid. will def make again!!! served with mashed sweet potatoes with raisins. thought it would taste asian, but it didn't. just GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Yummy with (crispy mashed potato pancake I found here) apple sauce and green beans with bacon. The chops flavor was mild but good....I like spice so next time I'll increase the spice. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This came out perfectly!! My husband was so impressed. I just chopped up two cloves of garlic, a little bit of ginger (1/2 the amount of garlic), and then added the sage and salt per the recipe. I only used two pork chops and seared them in a pan. I seared it on medium high on one side, and then turned it down to cook the other side. 7 minutes on each side would have been way too long for my particular chops... I cooked it more like 5 minutes on one side, and 4-5 on the other. It was a touch on the salty side, but that just made it extra delicious. I would tone down the salt if cooking only two chops next time, because all that salt probably isn't very good for you, but excellent recipe! Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were excellent. I fried them in a cast iron skillet and wow. Will make these again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
hey abbeypat...this recipe didn't even call for fennel. What the heck? It called for sage. Not fair to give a recipe a low score when you didn't follow it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I rate this low only because I added too much fennel and it was way too tangy of an outcome. If you've never worked with fennel before (like I hadn't), it is potent and releases its flavor during the cooking. So it may smell mild, but it is not if you are not careful. We will try these again, but the mistake was mine--not the recipe's. I still would recommend it for its easiness. As a last little note, I would reduce the cooking time. I had medium to thick chops and this timing was too long. They came out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
7-24-11: Ann said this was very good; I thought it a little dry - maybe I overcooked the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States