Succulent Grilled Hickory Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
The only way I've found to prepare pork chops that results in a tender and juicy chop rather than the usual tough and dry chop. The hickory chips boost the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were awesome. I changed a few things. Instead of white wine, I used chardonnay because that is all I had. I cut the sage in half, added a little liquid smoke to replace the hickory chips since I didn't have any, and cooked on a propane grill. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have to say it, that hubs is the grill MASTER and always turns out beautifully grilled and juicy meat, pork chops included--and he never marinates them. So it's not the marinade that makes them tender and juicy! Marinade only penetrates a little more than the surface of the meat. He tried this recipe tonight to indulge my wanting to do something a little different. While he grilled his usual perfectly grilled chops again, neither of us could taste the marinade, but the hickory flavor was distinct and delicious. I don't know that I would bother with the marinade again since it uses ingredients you can't taste anyway and hate to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I would highly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuiper55

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I let these marinate for four hours. We have a gas grill so I added a bit of liquid smoke to the mixture. These came out moist and tender I think more in part the way they were grilled than the marinade. The liquid smoke gave the obvious smoky flavor but not much else was going on here. A nice change of pace, but there are too many other pork marinades on here to do this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We have a huge pecan tree in the backyard that we grill with. This was good but something stood out too much. Maybe the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Blah! This tasted like nothing. Well, there was a slight white wine taste but even that was subtle. I admit I used a some liquid smoke instead of hickory chips but I don't think chips would have helped. I even added extra garlic and some green onion but still nothing. Won't make again-oh well; thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was too bland for us. Sorry won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I let the pork chops marinate for 6 hours. The pork chops were very tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Excellent marinade. The white wine really adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States