Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and several times since and everyone loves it! (I cut way back on the butter.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PocketCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was VERY good. I made it this past weekend to see whether or not I wanted to include it in my Thanksgiving dinner offerings this year. Decision: YES! I used frozen Baby Limas, frozen Niblets corn and fresh tomatoes. I did not include garlic as others suggested (at least not this time; too many "flavors" in T-day already) but I probably will next time (and there WILL be a next time). I think the tomatoes make the dish. Opinion? Don't even think about leaving them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I made this with all canned veggies and it still turned out awesome! Used seasoning salt instead of regular salt tho. And as others reviewed, use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Way too much butter for me.I've just cooked it and am trying to find a way to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! It was easy to make and a big hit with my friends. The only problem was that there was a lot of butter that really wasn’t needed. Next time I will cut the amount by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was my first venture with lima beans. The recipe was okay (hence the 3 stars) - not spectacular, not offensive. My lima beans got away from me a little bit as they simmered in the butter so some of them were bordering on the well-done side but all things considered, the recipe seemed to come out as it was supposed too. Because of the nutiousness of lima beans, I'll probably try them again, but next time, with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I wanted to make something with Lima Beans so the ingredient search showed up this recipe. The recipe looked rather bland, but I decided just to try it anyway. I'm glad I did! Here was my version since I had nothing fresh on hand. Since I was feeding 6 people I used 3 cups frozen lima beans, 2 cans diced tomatos (with juice), 2 cups of frozen sweet corn, 1 stick of butter, seasoning salt, pepper and a touch of onion powder to taste. I simmered the limas first with the stick of butter until tender (15-20 min), added tomatos, corn, 2 packs of Splenda and seasonings. Simmered on low for another 15 minutes and Voila! Every last bite was thoroughly enjoyed by all ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roopville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
OMG! I used all fresh local produce and real butter! I only made half the recipe and wish I had made the whole thing. SO GOOD! Like another reviewer I did not use two pots. Cooked the beans about 10 minutes and then added the tomatoes for 10 more. Then the corn for about 5 I couldn't wait any longer to eat it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This is a great side dish! I cut this in half since it was just for two of us. I used frozen lima beans and canned corn, which worked just fine in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! However, though I used the same ingredients, I scaled down the recipe by half and then only used half of the amount of butter than was called for. I started one cup frozen lima beans in 1/4 cup (half a stick)of butter in a skillet over medium-low heat for about 10 min, then I added two peeled and chopped tomatoes, the sugar, and one cup frozen corn and simmered it in the same pan for about another 20 minutes. I fail to understand why two pans are needed to prepare this dish. Still, the flavor was sooooo good and the vegies retained their texture (except for the tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States