Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
It was okay.. .probably since I didn't follow using fresh lima beans or corn (used frozen instead). But it was good and I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was delicious and I love that it is packed with nutrition, but I made it with a 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of a cup of butter. And even that seemed excessive. I might try half that next time. I used frozen lima beans (all I could find), a can of diced tomatoes (didn't feel like peeling fresh tomatoes), and fresh corn--just two ears, because they were big, and the proportions seemed right that way. I also used the one-pot method--10 minutes for beans then 20 after adding the tomatoes and corn. Texture was great--just a little crunch. My toddler refused to eat the lima beans, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wonderful comfort food! The tomatoes make this dish. I even add more tomatoes when I make it. Next time I may use some green beans for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was great. I had it over whole wheat linguine noodles as a main dish. I cut the butter in half and only made it in one pan with canned Great Northern beans and frozen corn. Because I used canned beans, I just added them a couple of minutes before I added the corn. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent. I made one change: I cut up some red onion and cooked with the limas for 10 minutes. Then added everything else. Used one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Didn't really like this. Scaled down to 4 servings. Added red & orange bell peppers, green onions, tiny bit of hot pepper, tomato, fresh garlic and a few teaspoons of Parmesan. Skipped the sugar and salt. Perhaps it was too much butter, cooked a bit too long and I'll skip out using cheese if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
A great and simple version of succotash. Had I not been so stuffed with everything else, I might have enjoyed it more. Lots of leftovers for tomorrow, though ... and then I'll really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this side dish. Only turn off was the extraordinary amount of butter. Would make again for sure, but definitely use at least, if not less 1/2 amount of butter for dietary reasons. We used frozen Lima beans, whole tomatoes and canned corn. Other than that tho, veggies blended well together and tasted great and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have made this recipe about 4-5 times since finding it. While we really like it (obviously), I have made some adjustments and thought I'd share. I originally tried canned tomatoes based on a reviewer. Bad idea. The taste is just not the same. Stick to the original recipe's fresh tomatoes-for which now I'll only use Roma tomatoes. I have come to substitute the fresh corn and lima beans with frozen if I need to be fast, but two of my kids will not eat it if I've used canned corn or canned lima beans. The textures are completely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I use the frozen veggies and a bit less butter and its great! I personally also leave out tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States