Suburban Cowboy Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
As many have said, this is a sweet chili. I just couldn't get over the strange combination of flavors that didn't really work for us. The young kids didn't like it either. I thought it was weird and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for a potluck at work and everyone loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is definitely a keeper. The second time around, to make this a bit more heart-healthy, I poured off about half of the bacon grease before adding the ground beef and followed the directions from there. I also used the low-sodium chili powder to reduce the amount of salt in this recipe. This goes into my personal collection -- many thanks to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Really liked this one. Because I know how much spice we like, I just used enough to our tast. I used bacon that I made myself and my own beans. Very yummy!!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This tasted great and looked nice! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
great dish. Today I made this dish the second time, and it didn't taste as great as the first time. Maybe it's the chili seasoning, but one thing I always remember is that it's spicy for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I'm not into sweets so it didn't appeal to me personally, but I had a few bites and it wasn't bad. Reminded me alot of sloppy joes. Hubby loved it and said he'd give it a six, and he hasn't given a five to anything on this website so far. If you like baked beans and/or sweet meats, I think this will be a definate do over for you. I have to say the chili gave it some kick for me and the meat/beans for my old cowboy. I don't see it, but hubby says next time to try and make some hash browns to pour it over. I'll give an update in a few weeks. It will go into the rotation per his request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My husband still loves this recipe, though I definitely kick it up a notch with a touch of some red and white pepper, a little mustard powder and touch of molasses. I like this meal since I watch closely what I eat now (diabetes) and let the hubby eat the biscuits. The beans fill me up without triggering my sugar. That touch of molasses doesn't even register for me. I do substitute a nice smoked turkey bacon and use lean ground beef - organic beans, to keep it healthier. Most recipes can still be good, even when done healthier, and I think this is a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Great basic recipe that can be tweaked to personal taste. I browned some diced yellow onion with the ground beef. Also, I thought it was missing something, so I added some spicy yellow mustard and a little barbecue sauce. Husband had to fend for himself for a couple of days, and he had it over steamed white rice one day, and in hoagie rolls sloppy Joe-style the next. Thanks, Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Pretty good...I doubled the recipe and its makes a ton so beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States