Substitute Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made this type of whipping cream and it tastes pretty good to me because it's fat free so no guilt and works in a pinch as long as you have skim milk and a really powerful mixer (400 watts or more) and use really cold skim milk. It really will only work with skim milk and I also put my tall mixing container in the fridge to get cold as well . I own a Bamix immersion blender and the recipe book has stuff like whipped toppings to mayonnaise but it has speeds 8000 to 12,000 rpm so I think the people complaining here that this recipe didn't work just didn't have a strong enough mixer. * Also - I add a few drops of vanilla stevia (amazon sells it) which really adds to the taste with out the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
years ago when I was a young bride, I received my first Braun hand blender with a recipe similar to this one--not as much sugar though--just 2 T granulated sugar for 2 cups of skim milk. The trick is to have EVERYTHING chilled in the freezer--the container (the METAL immersion blender attachment if you have it, OR this can also be done with a standard mixer so chill the beaters). Also, I would not change your container as this says(unless it too is chilled in the freezer)--the key is that the milk remain very cold and partially frozen. My original recipe says to freeze until there is a 1/2 inch ring of frozen milk around the rim of the bowl-I originally used a small pyrex bowl. Also, I blended the sugar into the milk before freezing and chilled my vanilla in the refrigerator, adding it as I whipped. The whipping should not take long. If you did not have success, your stuff was not chilled enough. Also--this says use immediately and this is true--as it warms it WILL deflate--don't make it until serving time. Good luck all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I whipped the milk for the longest time, and it still didn't work. Even though it got slightly foamy, within 3 minutes the air had gone, and all i had left in the bowl was sweet milk. At the end of the day, cream works the best when it comes to whipped toppings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
After reading the previous reviews, I tried this with Lactaid's new Half-and-Half. I still got very bubbly liquid, even after adding more confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I would not use this recipe, even in desperation. I not only wasted milk, but time and money. You should really try out a recipe before you put it onto a site like this. I tried, to no avail, make this recipe work. However, after I exhausted all my efforts and attempts, I ended up with foamy milk with a hint of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Didn't work at all. I was very dissapointed. Wasted my milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
WOW! Avoid this one folks, unless you enjoy a challenge. I blended and blended until my arm about fell off, and still nothing but sweet milk. After 15 minutes of blending at every speed, I gave up. The directions really need to be more specific. How long do we blend before peaks begin to form. 2 minutes, or 20? I am trying to salvage my milk mixture. I poured it into a bowl, added extra vanilla to taste preference, and it's now in my freezer. Going to attempt to turn it into ice cream, or rather ice milk. Thanks anyways, but next time, just go to the store and buy cool whip. It will actually save time and even money considering todays milk prices. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
After halving the recipe and following the directions, the result was foamed skim milk with a hint of sweetness. I added more sugar in hopes of a whipped cream-like product. That didn't help. It made it worse. This is not something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Well, indeed it is a great substitute except it will give you the worst stomachache from the high concentration of condensed air that you are pumping into it! All you're swallowing is air so don't overdue it - just be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States