Substitute Phyllo Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Was easier to make than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
i Used this recipe to fry small cheese & chopped oregano filled pies, cooking time was so fast & turned a nice golden color within minutes. I didnt try baking it though but I love the way my pies turned out nice & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I live 4 hours away from Brooklyn, where I used to get the BEST knishes.... Was really craving a good sized NY-style knish, and this is the recipe I used for the dough. I tripled the recipe to produce 5 large-size rounds (about the size of a dinner plate). I had no trouble with it except to say that I added an additional teaspoon of white vinegar even after tripling the normal amt to help let it stretch. (Which if you weren't aware is the reason the dough stretches so well in the first place - you could substitute with the same amt of lemon juice if you were making more of a dessert dish.) FANTASTIC - and it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
sorry but i didn't care for it as a phyllo subsitute. not flakey, kind of tough. made an apple strudel with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made the recipe as called for but it turned out to be somewhat drier than others that I have made. I would suggest another recipe as this is not adequate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
i give this 4 stars as it came out great but doesnt have that flakey texture phyllo has. also i had to add about a cup more flour as the 1/3 cup milk turned out to be a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I used this recipe and rolled it out and cut it into squares, I put the ingredients for shepard's pie in each of them and pinched the dough at the top so it looked like a ball with a bow on top. it turned out great. my whole family loved it. I served it with a little gravy. thanks for the recipe. 5-5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Try _anything_once

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I like this recipe. I do not know how this recipe calls it for cooking it this long, my phyllo would have been burnt to a crisp. Maybe it is just my oven lol. (new oven too) They came out all right. I wanted to add some vanilla extract the second time, it ruined the consistant of the dough and would not stretch. I guess this is one of those recipes you need to be careful how you change things up a bit. Maybe it was the alcahol in the extract. good recipe nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by james81
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
20/04/2009 I`ve never bought Phyllo dough because I have problems to find it in my country. I used this recipe. I don`t know how Phyllo dough must be, all I can say, this recipe makes very good dough. 5 stars ****Update***Finally I found Phyllo and I have to change the rewiew. I realized this is not a phyllo dough substitution. It is imposible to roll and stretch the dough so thin as phyllo is, so you will get the wrong dough and texture in final dish. When you bake with phyllo you put a few layers together. It is imposible to do with this dough. Even if you are able to stretch this dough very thin without tearing, the layers will stick together, so you will get almost one layer after baking. The texture wasn`t flaky at all. I realized this recipe can't be used for Baklava and other Arabic sweets or Greek recipes with Phyllo. I tried this dough for other recipes without success too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I used this recipe to make Baklava. I don't know what Baklava looks like, tastes like, and I've never cooked with Phyllo Dough either. My finished product tasted delicious though so 5 stars for the recipe!!! I can never find Phyllo Dough in the grocery store so this recipe helps out alot. ***UPDATE*** I finally cooked with phyllo dough and I must say that this is SO MUCH BETTER! I'm never going to use the packaged stuff ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States