Submarine Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012 - it had been in my recipe box for a long time - over all this is very tasty but it also needs some red wine vinegar. This would also make a tasty dipping oil for some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is GREAT!! Of course I had to mess around with it, so I added 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and a little sugar...and a lot more garlic. This basic easy recipe is FANTASTIC, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Great! But not what Johnny Carino's serves (I used to work there). They just add baked minced garlic to extra virgin olive oil. This is better than that for a sandwich spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. I use it for dipping bread in with Italian meals. I used dried garlic and crushed it. So good. I've been looking for a recipe like they use at Johnny Carino's and this is it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This did jazz up my ham sandwich but it wasn't WOW fantastic! I might make again, I might not. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
So very tasty. I did add more garlic, since we are all garlic lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Was good. Just not the best. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Wonderful results for such a simple recipe! I scaled this recipe down so that I wouldn't have to store leftover oil. It still worked great. Made for very tasty sandwiches! I put it on the bread and on the lettuce so there was plenty of flavor on each sandwich. My husband said the sandwiches were better than those we buy at the sub shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This was okay. I didn't have a glass jar, so I steeped in a plastic bowl with a lid, and that may not have been a good idea. The flavors really didn't blend together all that great. Again, that was probably all me, and I will try this again using glass next time. Also I just made regular subs, and not italian subs. I'm sure this would've been awesome on Italian subs. There will be a next time for this dressing, I will just be sure to follow directions a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This recipe is fantastic! I made my mother an traditional sub sandwich and she thought it was bought at a sub shop. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States