Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I am glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I needed a simple frosting recipe for chocolate cupcakes. I figured that since this is actualy for cakes I cut the ingredients in half as I only made 16 cupcakes. I read the comments before I decided on this and was worried that the heavy cream won't get stiff. I had to watched a youtube video to actually understand the consistency of a whipped heavy cream. I am very new to baking and it was my first time to make cupcakes. Here's what I did: I put my mixing bowl, the mixer attachments and the box of heavy cream in the freezer before I started making cupcakes. While my cupcakes are cooling off in the rack, I set up my stand mixer(btw, my mixer is not kitchen aid) and poured 8 0z of the heavy cream in the bowl and added 1 tsp of cream of tartar. I started it at low speed (about 10 seconds) as my heavy cream was a bit chunky and then high speed. While the heavy cream is whipping , I mix 4oz of cream cheese, 1/4cup of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and the zest of 1 orange in a separate bowl and set it aside. After about 6-7 minutes of the heavy cream whipping, the heavy cream became thicker and so I started slowly adding the cream cheese mixture in 1/3 parts. I turned the mixer off once the cream cheese mixture is mixed well to the stiff heavy cream. This recipe turned out really well with the cupcakes and was just the right amount I needed. I got lots of compliments for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's delicious and I will definitely be eating it vs using it for frosting, but mine was too soft and not holding the peaks like in the video and other users' pictures. I am not for sure, but I think because I used Heavy Whipping Cream instead of Heavy Cream... I googled and it seems there is a big difference as Heavy Cream is better for piping. I think this should be confirmed and pointed out in the directions for us ambitious amateurs please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I read the reviews and watched the video for this recipe because there were so many reviewers that had an issue with it. I followed it exactly. Following the instructions exactly, it turned out fantastic!!! The sheet cake is beautiful!! I cannot wait to find other times to use it! Also, I use allrecipes all the time and love to cook. But this is the first recipe I have ever rated. It's just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Frosting is delicious. It holds up well. Not as well as buttercream but for a whipped topping, It's great. Kids might not like it as much because of the tang from the cream cheese and it's not as sweet as the traditional buttercream frosting from bakeries. I added 3/4 cup sugar instead of the 1/2 cup listed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great alternative to cream cheese icing! Lighter and less sweet, with the deliciousness of whipped cream added. I followed the recipe exactly and used it to frost a red velvet cake. Because of the telltale tang of cream cheese, I wouldn't recommend this as a standard "whipped cream" icing, but it is delicious anywhere you would normally use a cream cheese icing - carrot cake, banana cake, red velvet or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious. Someone asked me if there was yogurt in this frosting! It's tasty and not too sweet. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Sadly, this is anything but sturdy. I am a very experienced baker and I could not get this to whip past the texture of pudding. I tried chilling it overnight and whipping again. I tried adding 2 packets of Dr. Oetker's Whipped Cream stabilizer and whipping it agian, and then I added some powdered sugar. Nothing worked. It tasted great and I didn't want to waste it, so eventually I added another block of cream cheese and then made a loose version of frozen chocolate terrine so I wouldn't have to toss it out. The terrine got rave reviews. If you can't get the frosting to whip, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe I tried it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe held up very well over the long period of time that my cupcakes were left out. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States