Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's delicious and I will definitely be eating it vs using it for frosting, but mine was too soft and not holding the peaks like in the video and other users' pictures. I am not for sure, but I think because I used Heavy Whipping Cream instead of Heavy Cream... I googled and it seems there is a big difference as Heavy Cream is better for piping. I think this should be confirmed and pointed out in the directions for us ambitious amateurs please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I read the reviews and watched the video for this recipe because there were so many reviewers that had an issue with it. I followed it exactly. Following the instructions exactly, it turned out fantastic!!! The sheet cake is beautiful!! I cannot wait to find other times to use it! Also, I use allrecipes all the time and love to cook. But this is the first recipe I have ever rated. It's just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Frosting is delicious. It holds up well. Not as well as buttercream but for a whipped topping, It's great. Kids might not like it as much because of the tang from the cream cheese and it's not as sweet as the traditional buttercream frosting from bakeries. I added 3/4 cup sugar instead of the 1/2 cup listed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great alternative to cream cheese icing! Lighter and less sweet, with the deliciousness of whipped cream added. I followed the recipe exactly and used it to frost a red velvet cake. Because of the telltale tang of cream cheese, I wouldn't recommend this as a standard "whipped cream" icing, but it is delicious anywhere you would normally use a cream cheese icing - carrot cake, banana cake, red velvet or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious. Someone asked me if there was yogurt in this frosting! It's tasty and not too sweet. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Sadly, this is anything but sturdy. I am a very experienced baker and I could not get this to whip past the texture of pudding. I tried chilling it overnight and whipping again. I tried adding 2 packets of Dr. Oetker's Whipped Cream stabilizer and whipping it agian, and then I added some powdered sugar. Nothing worked. It tasted great and I didn't want to waste it, so eventually I added another block of cream cheese and then made a loose version of frozen chocolate terrine so I wouldn't have to toss it out. The terrine got rave reviews. If you can't get the frosting to whip, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe I tried it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe held up very well over the long period of time that my cupcakes were left out. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this frosting recipe! It works the best for cupcakes. I've made this several times and everyone raves over the frosting. I usually omit the almond extract though and just add a bit more vanilla. I have also made this before and added about 2-3 Tablespoons of Bailey's for Irish cream cupcakes! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asteingruby
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States